Under The Sea

Today’s nails are sparkling aqua with an aquatic theme. The aqua was made of 1/2 China Glaze Blue Island Iced Tea, a sparkling light blue glitter, and 1/4 Misa Pour Me Something Tall and Strong,a medium blue jelly, and 1/4 Color Club Blue Light, an intense opaque light blue.

I painted the tips with a coordinating light blue glitter mixed with a clear topcoat. It’s not really noticeable but it makes the nails seem a little more finished.

On my index finger is some seaweed, then some more of those pearly baubles on my middle finger and pinkie, and on the ring finger is a clam. Yes, a clam. It was suggested by more than one person that it looked like a baseball glove, but it is a clam.

img_3979

img_3973

But wait- I have some

EXCITING NEWS!

Are you gals and guys ready for this? I’m setting up a web shop on Etsy.com, a marketplace for handmade items. Etsy is only for handmade crafts and vintage items, a bit like what Ebay used to be like before it got to be an online version of any shopping mall in America.

I’m going to sell my frankens and nail art!

When I make a franken that I like, I paint nail tips with it and make a note of the “recipe.”

img_0100

img_9907

Each nail tree has 22 tips on it, 11 of each size to fit various size nails. The tips are good quality and fairly thin so they sit naturally on the nail. The length is short- great for people who are active or type a lot. I wore mine for a week with no problems (this was back before I started changing my nails everyday and blogging!) They don’t chip at all and are really comfortable.

The nail tips can be used with double-sided nail tape, temporary (water soluable) nail glue, or traditional nail glue (like cyanoacrylate superglue). Just apply the glue, put the nail over your nail bed, and twist the nail off the tree. File off the little tab and you’re all done! I think it’s easier to twist the nails off the tree than to pick through a box of loose nails.Β  Of course, they could be sold loose as well.

I’m going to paint all the nails with the same color unless requested otherwise (unlike the picture above!).

I’m also going to put some handpainted nail art as well. I’m still deciding prices- I think $5 USΒ  for a single color set- this seems to be what drugstore press-on nails cost. I’ll also offer sets of 3 for $10 and 10 for $25. Of course, custom mixed shades will be available too!

For nail art tips (marbled, rhinestones, gradated, handpainted with one of my famously odd themes), $10-15 per set. Shipping is a flat $3 to anywhere in the world.

I don’t expect to really sell much, but I’ve decided that a portion of the proceeds will be donated to a no-kill animal shelter or pet rescue.

So, what do you think? Is the cost OK? The nails are really good quality- I think better than press-ons from the drugstore for the same price, and in custom colors that won’t chip.

Don’t worry- my blog will just have a link on the sidebar to the shop after it’s set up. I won’t inundate anyone with pleas to buy my nails- it’ll just be available as a discreete link. I’m not going commercial or anything! I’ll post the link after my shop is set up, but my content will remain ad-free.

Any feedback about price, designs, etc. would be appreciated!

About nevertoomuchglitter

Nail artist. Wanderer. I'm a color-holic, in fact, it was my love of color that brought me to the nail art world. Well, that, and the fact I was too cheap to pay crazy Japanese prices for nail polish while living in Tokyo, so I had to start mixing my own. That's how NTMG began.
This entry was posted in Blues, Nail polish, NTMG Original Nail Art and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to Under The Sea

  1. nivipa says:

    It sounds like a great idea – congratulations! I think that your idea of donating some of the proceeds very admirable as well! Normally I don’t go for tips like this – my nails are soooooo thin they can be easily damaged. My nails are so thin they can easily be bent straight down toward my fingertip! Would these be safe, to you think?

    • nevertoomuchglitter says:

      Nivipa-Thank you for your comment and kind words.
      For thin nails, I don’t know if the acrylic-type glue (like Crazy Glue) would be the best- the bond is too strong and you can lose layers of nails if for some reason the nail is forced off (hitting it in a door, etc).

      There are double-sided tape tabs designed for nail tips that generally don’t damage nails, especially if you soak the nails off in hot water, dissolving the tape/glue. The downside is that the tape doesn’t last very long, especially if your nails get wet. They need to be re-stuck.

      The third choice is of glue…gosh, I don’t know the name in English, but in Japan, it’s called “repeating nail glue.” It’s slightly stronger than the tape. It’s a white water-based glue which you brush on your natural nails and inside the tips and wait for it to dry. It will turn clear but sticky when dry. Just press the sticky artificial nail onto your sticky real nail bed. It will come off easily if soaked in water- this can be good or bad. The glue will come completely off the tips when soaked in warm water, hence the name “repeating glue.”

      Since you’re my first commenter on my post, I’ll send you a set of nails for free for you to try out if you like. πŸ˜‰ I’ll also be doing a giveaway as well to get some feedback, if you’d prefer to enter that. If you’d like a set, send your shipping address to me at nevertoomuchglitter [at]gmail.com- oh, and let me know what color you’d like!

      • Giulia says:

        A quick question about the repeating nail glue…can it be used with clear nails? I’ve used stick-on nail tabs before and am hesitant to try them with these kind of nails since the ones I have aren’t completely transparent. Thanks!

      • nevertoomuchglitter says:

        Hi there! Thanks for stopping by.
        THe repeating glue does dry totally clear. It brushes on white, but dries to a transparent finish. However, if it gets exposed to water, it can temporarily cloud and it will lose some stickiness each time. So that’s why it’s best just for a party or event.

  2. PBG says:

    Cute sea-themed nails. The shells are adorable. πŸ™‚

    I’m so glad to hear that you’re going to sell your frankens. You do such a good job at that. I really like what you post here.

    • nevertoomuchglitter says:

      Thank you PBG! We’ll see what I come up with! The store is free to set up, so I figure I have nothing to lose. πŸ˜‰

      • Sheila says:

        Hi! I just found your blog and think it’s great. I sell on etsy and it is a great place. You will meet lots of friendly people on there. I will be looking forward to your frankens. I just did a search on there the other day for nail polish and didn’t find any so you can corner the market.

      • nevertoomuchglitter says:

        Thank you Sheila! I look forward to being on Etsy. See you there. πŸ˜‰

  3. K says:

    I applaud your pledge to donate a portion of proceeds to a good cause. Please take a moment to consider the logic behind “no-kill” shelters, and to read this article: http://www.patrickkphillips.com/2008/04/04/the-truth-about-%E2%80%9Cno-kill%E2%80%9D-shelters/

    I’m an animal lover myself and owner of shelter-adopted pets. I’m sad to say, but the animals I adopted would most likely not have been taken in by a “no-kill” shelter. The cats were not pretty or in peak health and the dog was a hyperactive barker (at the time of their adoptions). Nonetheless, given a good home and proper attention, they turned out to be great pets.

    While it is up to you to decide where you want to donate, please don’t deem “no-kill” shelters to automatically be more deserving of your funds. The animals and staff in “ordinary” shelters are just as much in need of help (if not more so), and would be thankful for your support.

    • nevertoomuchglitter says:

      Hi K,
      Thank you for taking time to leave such a thoughtful and detailed comment. I will definitely consider all options, including local shelters that might not be designated as ‘no kill.’ I welcome any suggestions.

  4. Nixxy says:

    Yesss! Great idea! Are you going to sell bottles of frankens, too?

    • nevertoomuchglitter says:

      Nixxy,
      It’ll probably be just tips at first as it’s illegal to send bottles of nail polish by air from Japan! It’s considered “flammable cargo” and needs to be sent by ship. I’ve snuck a couple packages with nail polish by the Japan post but I was warned.

  5. Alexlyndra says:

    I’m so excited for you! That’s amazing! To seel your own frankens must feel really cool? πŸ˜€ I like you under the sea manicure, sea weed, bubbles, shells and such. It’s a calm place. πŸ™‚

    • nevertoomuchglitter says:

      Thanks Alexlyndra! I am very excited about it- I’m not sure I can find any buyers, but I think I can have a lot of fun trying.

  6. Fifrildi says:

    I’d buy a bottle of franken off you sent by sea mail even if it takes about a month to arrive πŸ˜€

    Thanks a lo for all your advice earlier on where to shop polishes in Japan. I got a great haul off my 3 weeks there, but got lost in Don Quixote so did not find gradation liquid (and my Japanese consists of 25 words so it’s hard to ask for help!). The Daiso in Harajuku was a wonderful place as well as drugstores I stumbled upon.

    • nevertoomuchglitter says:

      I’m glad you had a wonderful time, Fifrildi! Believe me, everyone gets lost in Don Quixote! It’s like a maze.

      Sounds like you got a pretty good haul of stuff- have fun with it! πŸ™‚

  7. Deniz says:

    The idea is great, I don’t know anyone who does better and more fun tips than you do! Btw I love todays manicure very much, maybe because my name means “sea” in Turkish =)

Leave a Reply

