Black Opal Explosion

My favorite gem is the opal. I like white, blue, black- any opal is fine with me.  But if I could choose any opal, I’d choose a black one.

Today’s manicure is just that- a black opal. The base is a dark burgundy, and there are iridescent flashes of every color suspended in a black translucent base. It took me three or four coats to get bottle color, and the application was a little streaky. I decided to start over and paint over a dark base instead.

img_4084

Best of all, it’s pretty easy!

Although this would work fine with a straight black base, I started with a burgundy base (10 drops creme red plus 3 drops creme black). I didn’t want the manicure base color to be too solid, so a  jellyish burgundy seemed to be a better choice than straight black.

From there, I added a coat Sinful Colors Hottie over it. I hate the name- it makes me feel like I’m in middle school, but it’s good for layer frankens. It’s different size silver/holoish glitter in a translucent pale periwinkle base. I’ve given up trying to get it to be bottle color- it’s just impossible. But it’s good for layer frankens.

After that, I added the grande finale-  two coats of Nfu Oh #60. Nfu Oh is a Korean brand made in France (?) and is supposed to be cruelty free.  My new Nfu Oh has wound up somewhere in the polish vortex in my house, but I’ll update with a photo when I find it. It’s a translucent black polish with large irregular sized rainbow iridescent  flecks. In the sun, the translucent black allows a tinge of burgundy to show through underneath and gives the manicure some  nice depth.

I tried taking about 50 pictures of this and came up with only two good ones. Trust me, it’s fabulous- just like a real opal!

img_4093

About nevertoomuchglitter

Nail artist. Wanderer. I'm a color-holic, in fact, it was my love of color that brought me to the nail art world. Well, that, and the fact I was too cheap to pay crazy Japanese prices for nail polish while living in Tokyo, so I had to start mixing my own. That's how NTMG began.
This entry was posted in Darks, Nail polish and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Black Opal Explosion

  1. Alexlyndra says:

    I love flake polishes, especially Nfu Oh’s. I don’t have one of my own yet, but soon… 😉

  2. looks great (as usual)!! I thought that was Nfu Oh on the top, but when you said sinful hottie I did a double take, then i kept reading and saw that indeed that was a nfu oh topping!

  3. Little Fairy says:

    Nice mani !

    The world’s gone crazy ! Nfu-oh is made in France, but in France, we can’t buy this polish other than Fabuloustreet !! >__<‘

    • nevertoomuchglitter says:

      Hi Little Fairy,
      I got mine at Fabulous Street too. It is really crazy that you can’t buy a product made in France in France- maybe you can find the factory and sneak in like a ninja! But at least Fabulous Street charged me reasonable shipping- I paid 8USD for 10 bottles to be shipped to Japan.

  4. Lucy says:

    Hi Jen! The opal is my birthstone and I love it. You did a fantastic job getting all the fire and ice of an opal. Love the black opal.

  5. schneevante says:

    wow, amazing! You just made me order the #60 – will be my first opal but certainly not my last!!

  6. mephitine says:

    Never thought of putting Hottie on first before flakies for a black opal finish. Must try it now!

Leave a Reply

