Hot Chili Manicure

Here’s a fun Southwestern themed manicure for today- chili peppers.

Recently, I made a dusty brownish burgundy background with red and a couple drops of green crème, but I wasn’t that thrilled with the color. It sort of clashed with my skintone and just didn’t do anything for me. However, it was a perfect Southwestern color- sort of the same shade as those wreaths of dried peppers that I’ve seen in New Mexico. I decided to do some Southwesterned theme nail art over the color that I wasn’t crazy about.

 

 

So, I painted the chili pepper shapes with white crème over the burgundy. If I had just painted the chilis directly on, they would have been very hard to see over the dark background. The white allows the color to “pop” more. After the white was dry, I painted on a translucent red (Essie Jelly Apple), yellow (China Glaze Yell-O-Neil) and green (New York- Amaranth) to make the various peppers. Make sure the shade you paint over the white is not very opaque, or the peppers won’t stand out as much. I mixed a lighter green for the stems and applied in the same way. Finally, I outlined the peppers with my Sally Hansen nail art pen after the everything was dry. Don’t forget to add a topcoat- the nail art pen is water-soluable.

 

I painted the thumb and pinkie in a striped pattern in the same colors as the peppers.

 

 

img_3339

 

img_3341

Those wicked peppers are up to no good- just waiting to cause heartburn! I love spicy food, but sometimes those chilis really fight back.

About nevertoomuchglitter

Nail artist. Wanderer. I'm a color-holic, in fact, it was my love of color that brought me to the nail art world. Well, that, and the fact I was too cheap to pay crazy Japanese prices for nail polish while living in Tokyo, so I had to start mixing my own. That's how NTMG began.
This entry was posted in Nail polish, NTMG Original Nail Art, Reds and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Hot Chili Manicure

  1. Lucy says:

    That is a fantastic look Jen! Love it. I’d like some salsa and chips, oh and a Margarita also.

  2. nevertoomuchglitter says:

    Lucy- That’s the idea! Sounds good to me!

  3. Deniz says:

    Now I want fajitas, and it’s all your fault =)
    Btw, how many bottles of NewYork Amaranth do you have lying around? =)

  4. I have to show my mom this one, she loves the southwest style! Very cute!

  5. Laine says:

    How clever! You did it so nicely! Very, very cool and fun

  6. Alexlyndra says:

    Now that’s so cute! I love your creativity! You totally inspire me. 🙂

  7. nevertoomuchglitter says:

    Deniz- Sorry about making you hungry ;). I have only 1 bottle of NY Amaranth, but I make enough polish for only 1 manicure so it lasts a pretty long time. There are not many translucent greens- greens are usually shimmer, or glitter, or dark.

    Brooke- I like the SW theme too- I’m thinking about some cactus and a teeny sombrero with jewels for my next one.

    Laine- Thanks for stopping by- glad you liked it.

    Alexlyndra- Aw, thank you! Let me know if you have any requests.

  8. Deniz says:

    your frankening skills are just amazing =) I once tried it with clear polish and pigment – it was a disaster =) But I wasn’t as patient as you and just poured the pigment into the battle =)

  9. Deniz says:

    *I mean bottle!

  10. nevertoomuchglitter says:

    Deniz- Get a little muffin tin or baking cup, or even an artists pallette. The right materials will make a big difference. For pigments, I put the pigment into the muffin tin and add the polish. For hard pigments like eyeshadows, pour the polish into the tin/palette and then use an eyeshadow brush to brush it on. Then mix a lot!

    What color was your franken?

    • Deniz says:

      it was a duochrome white/blue pigment and clear polish. it was actually pretty nice, until I got overboard and added copper =D what was I thinking? lol =D

Leave a Reply

