Totally Rad!

Well, I did pick on MAC’s $$$$$ Yes yesterday, but I found that it makes a nice layer franken.

The white silvery finish makes a nice base under translucent colors. Since I have a whole bottle to use up, I was experimenting with some layering. I found that China Glaze Celtic Sun (neon yellow translucent) and China Glaze Rose Among Thorns (slightly dirty translucent neon pink) worked nicely. As they are fairly translucent polishes, they allow the silver frost to show through and give it an interesting glow.

img_4080

These are translucent, though they don’t appear to be in the photo.

Check out this rad neon manicure!  I wasn’t really wearing nail polish in the ’80s because I was just a little kid, but if I had been a grown-up, I would have rocked this one for sure:

img_4064

This is two coats of MAC $$$$$ Yes, the whitish silver frost, and then two coats of China Glaze. I then stuck some hot pink with green flash rhinestones on for some added ’80s flair.

img_4056

img_4049

I tried to do a gradation on the thumb, but it wound up looking like a fishing lure.

So all is  not lost, translucent polishes look very interesting over $$$$$ Yes, but I still think it was a waste of money as there are other great silvers on the market for 1/4 of the price.

About nevertoomuchglitter

Nail artist. Wanderer. I'm a color-holic, in fact, it was my love of color that brought me to the nail art world. Well, that, and the fact I was too cheap to pay crazy Japanese prices for nail polish while living in Tokyo, so I had to start mixing my own. That's how NTMG began.
This entry was posted in Brights, Nail polish and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Totally Rad!

  1. Deniz says:

    Clever! Looks like you have teeny tiny robots on your fingernails =)

  2. Kae says:

    Those bright colors really pop with that silver!

  3. Alexlyndra says:

    Cool mani! I’ve considered trying out gradiation (well I have twice before but I did it the wrong way) and now I’m gonna try it the right way, but.. I’m so scared it’s gonna turn out awefull or just looking like crap. 😛 I think your gradiation turned out cool, not bad at all!

  4. Lucy says:

    Love the nails. Especially the thumb.

  5. nevertoomuchglitter says:

    Thanks everyone! I’m going to do a gradation tutorial soon, but I’m still getting the hang of it myself.

Leave a Reply

