Overpriced? $$$$$ Yes

Well, this is my first MAC polish, bought online so I didn’t have to deal with the snooty salesclerks at the store. I went to the store a couple times, but the staff has been borderline rude each time. Helpful they are not.

Despite the irritating staff members I encountered, I saw a promo photo of this polish and fell in love-  a silver nail polish that looked totally mirror-like and reflective. I’ve been searching for one for a long time, so I went ahead and ordered the polish, MAC $$$$$ Yes. That’s the name. I think it refers to the fact that it’s like $11 a bottle, or around $20ish in Japan.

I realize there are more pricey polishes out there, but I’m pretty cheap. More than $10 means it has to be pretty fabulous. So this was a splurge.

img_4040

It’s a whitish silver frost. Wowee. I don’t know about you guys, but I’m pretty thrilled. Yep.

The application was not bad- a little streaky, took three coats to be really opaque, and the brushstrokes faded as the polish dried. It’s a whitish silver frost that reminds me of magnesuium. While the color is not bad and the application is pretty good, this is not the fabulous polish in the promo pics at all.

I’m really tired of bogus advertising- like ads for mascara where the model is clearly wearing fake eyelashes! Or magazing covers that are airbrushed to high heck. One ad that really bothered me recently was for Helena Rubenstein cosmetics (which also tests on animals, so I’d never use them anyway!). Demi Moore is the spokeswoman and she’s showing off their $200 wrinkle cream. Not a wrinkle in sight- she looks great. It must be all thanks to that animal-tested, overpriced miracle in a jar, right? No way.  First of all, she’s admitted that she had extensive plastic surgery. Second, she has probably been using the best skincare money can buy for decades. Thirdly, those photos have had extensive touch-ups, airbrushing, and very soft lighting. Her wrinkle-free face has nothing to do with that Helena Rubenstein wrinkle cream. Save your money. I just feel sorry for the women who buy this overpriced jar of face cream thinking it will work miracles. 

Anyway, back on the polish front. There is no nail polish out there that will dry to a totally reflective surface. There’s foil and mylar nail art (some of which I’ll be showing you in the near future!) but no such thing as actual reflecting polish. Remember this when and stay strong when you see photos that suggest that the polish is reflective!

Save yer bucks and buy any number of silver polishes on the market: Color Club What a Drag (more foil-y and shimmery than this and costs about $3), or silver holos, or silver shimmer- there are lots in all price ranges.

I decided to do some Konad to fight off my disappointment at the polish using plate S6 and black Konad special polish. I got a kind of fun, futuristic manicure that I did enjoy, so the $$$$$ Yes wasn’t totally wasted.

img_40441

img_4046

I’ll be using this polish for frankens, so all is not lost. Just remember: if something looks too good to be true, it probably is! Oh, and before plunking down the bucks on a cosmetic item, try it out first.

About nevertoomuchglitter

Nail artist. Wanderer. I'm a color-holic, in fact, it was my love of color that brought me to the nail art world. Well, that, and the fact I was too cheap to pay crazy Japanese prices for nail polish while living in Tokyo, so I had to start mixing my own. That's how NTMG began.
This entry was posted in Konad, Metallic, Nail polish, Store-bought Colors and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Overpriced? $$$$$ Yes

  1. arkanefyre says:

    Have you seen Chanel Silver? It’s amazing reflective. Wearing it was like having metal on my tips!

    Sorry the MAC polish didn’t work out.

  2. Deez says:

    THAT, is exactly what I say……. Cosmetic companies should just start using mannequins, or go all digital… save money from advertising, and reduce the cost of their products, then pass that savings along to the customer….. Makes sense to me.

    Sadly, we are being sold an image… not a product….

    p.s your creations kick this snotty polish’s bunz!

  3. amber says:

    zoya makes a great silver too. cheaper. 🙂

  4. nevertoomuchglitter says:

    Arkanfyre- I haven’t tried the Chanel- it’s crazy expensive here in Tokyo and I have enough silver, but maybe if I win the lotto I’ll give it a go!

    Deez- Right on! Great idea, though I suspect the savings would never be passed onto us.

    Amber- Yeah, I’ve seen it- I think it’s Zoya Trixie. It looks nice, though I don’t own any Zoyas.

  5. Deniz says:

    I’m sure you’ve already heard of it, but Maybelline Mirror Image is one of the most jaw dropping metallic polishes I’ve seen! I wish we had that one in Turkey =)

    http://nailgal.com/displayimage.php?pid=14007&fullsize=1

  6. nevertoomuchglitter says:

    Deniz- Wow, you’re in Turkey? I’ve been wanting to go there but haven’t had the chance yet. That Maybelleine is shiny, but I have something else up my sleeve for metallic foils…check back soon!

  7. Deniz says:

    yes, I live in Istanbul =) I definitely recommend you to visit here, the Japanese folks are here all the time, smiling and taking pictures! =D

  8. nevertoomuchglitter says:

    Deniz- How interesting! I’m actually American, but I live in Japan. I’m planning a Turkey/Egypt/Jordan trip sometime in the future after I leave Japan. I look forward to visiting. Are there any local nail polish brands? 😉

  9. Deniz says:

    I’ve been following you for some time, and I know that you’re an American living in Japan =) You are so cute and talented!
    Local nail polish is not for my taste, I find them too boring and too sheer. That’s why I’m crazy for China Glaze right now, I’ve ordered 30 in the last month & planning to get 10 more! =)
    You should really come see Istanbul, it’s a beautiful city =)

  10. Alexlyndra says:

    Wow, I like this polish! But $11, I don’t know. There is this Mirror polish from Maybelline (I think) which I thought looks like this, and I think that one’s cheaper.. Maybe I’m wrong. Your Konad art looks very nice!

  11. nevertoomuchglitter says:

    Deniz- Thanks for reading for so long! I love China Glaze too- not expensive and fun colors. Also cruelty-free!

    Alexlyndra- Maybelliene is a much cheaper brand for sure- like $3 or so in the States and we can find it at the dollar store. The MAC wasn’t a bad polish, but too expensive.

  12. Pingback: True Metallic Nails « Nevertoomuchglitter’s Weblog

Leave a Reply

