Burgundy Zebra

It’s fall now in Australia and New Zealand, so here’s another fall color for everyone in the southern hemisphere: a juicy burgundy.

img_4026

I’m sorry that my photos don’t show it better, but thes was distinctly burgundy rather than black.

I made this with 10 drops of creme red (Essie Jelly Apple) and three drops of black creme (China Glaze Liquid Leather). From there, I added about 5 drops of clear polish to the mix. This was three thin coats.

If you add creme black to any red, you’ll get burgundy. Add the black slowly, drop by drop.

This was nice, but sort of threatening. I wasn’t in a dangerous mood, so I decided to lighten it up with some Konad.

I used the zebra pattern on Konad plate M57 with white Konad special polish.

I then painted over with a translucent dark pink/burgundy glitter (Orly Entourage- sorry, not Orly Glitz as I originally stated) and it softened the contrast between the white Konad and the dark background. I did leave the tip of the pinkie white so you could see what it looked like. I also stuck on a black jewel on the pinkie.

img_4033

img_4035

About nevertoomuchglitter

Nail artist. Wanderer. I'm a color-holic, in fact, it was my love of color that brought me to the nail art world. Well, that, and the fact I was too cheap to pay crazy Japanese prices for nail polish while living in Tokyo, so I had to start mixing my own. That's how NTMG began.
This entry was posted in Darks, Konad and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Burgundy Zebra

  1. Deniz says:

    Looks soo beautiful… sigh… =) I looked up to Orly Glitz, and it was like gold… Is it maybe another one?

  2. nevertoomuchglitter says:

    Deniz- You are totally right! I must have been huffing too much nail polish. It is indeed Orly Entourage, not Orly Glitz. Thanks for pointing that out.

  3. Nixxy says:

    Thanks for thinking of us girls down under! I’m going to try this out – I have a distinct lack of vampies in my collection! 🙂

  4. nevertoomuchglitter says:

    Nixxy- No problem! I have been to Oz and NZ and enjoyed Christmas on the beach- very different for sure.
    Have fun making some vampies. 🙂

  5. Alexlyndra says:

    It’s beautiful, especially with the cerise stripes on. It’s spring up here in Sweden, but for me you can use any colour any time. 🙂

  6. Lucy says:

    Very pretty color Jen! I love that it’s a jelly. Love it alone and also with that fabulous Konad!

  7. nevertoomuchglitter says:

    Thanks Alexlyndra! I love vampies too and wear them year-round.

    Lucy- Thank you as always. I might be doing a Jelly Week in a couple months because I just can’t get enough of them.

  8. I am sooooo loving this color combo together!! One of my top 10 of yours so far!!

  9. nevertoomuchglitter says:

    Thanks Brooke! I didn’t know if the white Konad with another layer of polish would work, but I like it. I’m going to try some white Konad over a dark base, and then marble over it with translucent polish. We’ll see how that turns out…

Leave a Reply

