Spring Green Shimmer

This is a light green packed with two kinds of shimmer. It has a foil-like finish but is not a metallic.

It’s a wee bit streaky because I only applied two coats. Three would have been better, but I ran out of polish.

I mixed up a small amount of a very dark, concentrated green for some nail art, and then I liked the color. I did a couple of darker greens recently, though, so I wanted something lighter.

My dark green polish was made of 1/2 China Glaze Yell-oh-Neil, a translucent yellow with yellow glass flecks, and 1/2 China Glaze Calypso Blue, a dark blue creme. It was a very dark green, almost black. You only need a tiny bit of this in the bottom of your pallette-like the size of a pea.

I then added about 20 drops of OPI Megawatt?!, a translucent whitish yellow with a strong yellow flash, and 3 drops of Orly Spark, a light creme yellow. It was a nice color, but it looked a bit like the creme Peppermint Patti I made, so I decided to add more shimmer. I used an old Body Shoppe Shimmer Cube eyeshadow (why on earth did I buy those?) in a gold color and covered the puddle of nail polish in the powder, then mixed in.

The result was a light green with yellow and gold flash.

img_3092

img_3097

It was a bit streaky, so I turned to my favorite kind of camoflauge: Konad and jewels!

img_3100

I used alternating olive and yellow jewels and a flowery tip pattern with the Konad special blue polish.

img_3102

About nevertoomuchglitter

Nail artist. Wanderer. I'm a color-holic, in fact, it was my love of color that brought me to the nail art world. Well, that, and the fact I was too cheap to pay crazy Japanese prices for nail polish while living in Tokyo, so I had to start mixing my own. That's how NTMG began.
This entry was posted in Greens, Konad, Nail polish and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Spring Green Shimmer

  1. Alexlyndra says:

    I looks good! Somewhat like a chrome polish. 🙂

  2. Lucy says:

    Pretty shade Jen. You need to go into the nail polish business. You can be the head of the color development department!

  3. nevertoomuchglitter says:

    Thanks Alexyndra! I like chromes, but sometimes they’re a little too blingy to wear every day.

    Lucy- That would be great fun. Maybe I’ll get “discovered!” 😉

Leave a Reply

