Enchanted Mushroom- 200th Post!

Well, this is my 200th post, everyone! I have something special for today- mushroom themed nail art.

These are not wicked hallucinogenic mushrooms, they are innocent, enchanted fairy mushrooms in the forest. I’ll save the psychadelic mushrooms for another time after I perfect the water marbling technique.

First, I mixed a green jelly from 2/3 creme yellow to 1/3 China Glaze Bermuda Breakaway, a blue creme. I then added about 15 drops of clear polish to give it a more translucent base. I’d wager this color is a lot like NARS Zulu but a couple shades lighter.

I painted two coats on and let them dry. From there, I used my dotting tool to add burgundy and white dots to my thumbs and ring finger.

For the pinkie, I painted a white tip, let it dry, and then used Essie Fishnet Stockings for the red. I added some white dots with my dotting tool.

I had to paint the entire mushroom shape using white creme before I painted the red caps, otherwise the red will not show up well against the dark green. After painting the caps red and adding dots, I outlined the mushrooms with my black Sally Hansen nail art pen.

img_3848

img_3849

img_3867

img_3858

My rarely-seen left hand is a bit wobbly but I wanted to show it to you!

img_3882

The whole manicure.

I find myself staring at these because they are really just too cute. This one is over the top in a fun way!

I hope everyone has enjoyed my blog so far and will keep coming back for more. 🙂 Thanks for reading!

About nevertoomuchglitter

Nail artist. Wanderer. I'm a color-holic, in fact, it was my love of color that brought me to the nail art world. Well, that, and the fact I was too cheap to pay crazy Japanese prices for nail polish while living in Tokyo, so I had to start mixing my own. That's how NTMG began.
This entry was posted in Nail polish, NTMG Original Nail Art and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Enchanted Mushroom- 200th Post!

  1. Deniz says:

    Awwww!!!! You make me wanna send you some nail tips to do and wear them for a lifetime =)

    • nevertoomuchglitter says:

      Deniz- Too bad you’re not in Japan! I may be participating in a big Tokyo craft fair selling nail tips and other goodies. I’m not sure if I have the confidence to go for it or not….some of my stuff is pretty odd!

  2. Lucy says:

    Nice but where is the fairy? So cute and great job.

  3. Deniz says:

    yay, please do a fairy theme =) you’re soo creative =)
    I think you should definitely participate, your work would shine among ridiculously decorated japanese nail tips =)

  4. pam2japan says:

    I love them!!! They make me think of the dancing mushrooms from that old Disney movie…so cute! And I second the motion for the craft fair. If I could be in Tokyo at that time, I’d definitely buy tips from you. 🙂 They’re all so lovely and unique!

  5. Alexlyndra says:

    Congrats to your 200th post. I have to say I love this mani! Gosh, you are very talented!

  6. First off, you should TOTALLY do the craft fair!! WIthout a doubt do it girl!! You are so talented, it is a shame to let an opportunity like that pass! Besides “pretty odd” is one of the musts for nails there isn’t it?? lol I hope you do it Jen, I think you could do great.

    Second – this mani is soooo cute! It looks so juicy. YOu have making jelly’s down to a science. I love the both hands pic too.

    Third – congrats on your 200th post!!! I look forward to reading 200 more 🙂

  7. Kae says:

    The mushrooms are adorable!

  8. claire says:

    I don’t often comment but I just have to express my love for this mani and your blog. Those mushrooms are adoooorable.

  9. Pingback: Will You Try These Adorable Mushroom Nail Arts?

Leave a Reply

