Alien Eggs

Now here’s something just plain weird for today. 

Have you ever wondered how many coats of nail polish could be applied in one sitting and dry fully? Well, wonder no more. The answer is seven.

Today’s somewhat creepy manicure was born by accident. I was frankening a dark orange sparkle, and I painted two coats on. Yeech. It looked pretty bad. I thought I might be able to cover it with a yellow- also two coats (four coats total). Ugh! Even worse! It looked like some kind of internal organs or fungus or something.

Since my manicure was wrecked, I decided to scratch some weird shapes into it with a toothpick while the polish was still wet.  This showed off the contrasting orange undercolor.  It reminded me of an alien landscape, so I added some little pearl baubles and named it Alien Eggs.

The nail surface was all rough and uneven, so I added a coat of clear polish to fill in the surface. (Five coats). Of course, the whole gooey mess needed a quick-dry topcoat, so I tried China Glaze Fast forward (six coats). It was thinner than Seche and not really drying that monster layer of polish, so I added a coat of Seche on top (seven coats). I started to get the teeniest bit of tip pull, so I quit at seven coats.

Not a process I’d repeat every day, but it was a strange and mysterious manicure for today.

img_38171

img_3824

img_3838

About nevertoomuchglitter

Nail artist. Wanderer. I'm a color-holic, in fact, it was my love of color that brought me to the nail art world. Well, that, and the fact I was too cheap to pay crazy Japanese prices for nail polish while living in Tokyo, so I had to start mixing my own. That's how NTMG began.
This entry was posted in Nail polish, NTMG Original Nail Art and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Alien Eggs

  1. Beth says:

    I dunno, I kind of think it’s pretty. 🙂

  2. nivipa says:

    I kinda like it, too!

  3. Ogden says:

    i love it!!

  4. I think it turned out pretty cool, especially those swirls you did on the thumb!

  5. Jennifer says:

    I think it actually looks pretty cool! I would be picking away at those pearls non-stop, though.

  6. Lucy says:

    I also like the manicure. I like the colors and the designs on it. How do you keep the pearls on your nails without knocking them off? I had to look at your manicure for a third time. It is so pretty. The placement of the pearls in your design is lovely.

  7. Kajsa says:

    Interesting. I like the sparkly sparkle underneath!

  8. Alexlyndra says:

    Wow, I really like the way your index finger turned out!

  9. Stargirl says:

    WOW! Awesome indeed.

  10. nevertoomuchglitter says:

    Thanks everyone! This one was just plain bizarre, but it’s fun to do something different, right? I’m glad you guys appreciate uniqueness!

    Lucy- I sort of squished the pearls into the wet polish. They got sealed in by the two layers of topcoat.

Leave a Reply

