Caramel Jelly

I guess this is more of a fall color than spring, but it was so delicious looking, I decided to wear it today. It’s fall in Australia and NZ, right? So, this is a fall color for you antipodeans.

I wanted a really glossy, jelly texture for this one.  This slightly warm brown is a hard color to pull off, and if the color is opaque rather than translucent, it will look muddy.  A jelly finish has a lot of gloss in it, and is translucent. Jellies appear sheer with one coat and need two or three to be opaque. I can think of a few jellies on the market, but not a lot. NARS Zulu is the first that comes to mind. 

This is made from all dollar store polish. It’s 2/3 orange plus 1/3 green. The orange polishe was pretty sheer and very glossy, and showed visible nail line with three coats. So, I decided I’d try to make a franken with it. The green was pretty translucent as well, but only took 2 coats to cover up the nail line. It was still pretty sheer, though.

The secret to making a good jelly is to make sure all the polishes are fairly translucent. Hold them up to the light- can the light pass through the bottle? If so, it will make a good jelly ingredient. Shimmers, neons, mattes, opaques and dense polishes will wreck a jelly franken.

If your colors aren’t translucent enough for a good jelly mix, you can thin them with half clear polish and check again. You want the color to be intense but see-through. If your color is too sheer, your jelly will need about 10 coats to show any color. Think of stained glass windows- intense color yet the light passes through them. That is what you need your jelly franken-materials to look like. You will probably need at least two coats to get full coverage. The color below is two fairly thick coats with no topcoat. See how shiny it is all by itself?

Jellies do take some patience and practice, but when they’re done right, they are very nice. Dark jellies are particularly intriguing, though light ones can be fun and girly too.

img_29811

img_2982

Please excuse the bad cuticles- I was in a rush. This is making me hungry for a pudding or a caramel candy, or a donut!

About nevertoomuchglitter

Nail artist. Wanderer. I'm a color-holic, in fact, it was my love of color that brought me to the nail art world. Well, that, and the fact I was too cheap to pay crazy Japanese prices for nail polish while living in Tokyo, so I had to start mixing my own. That's how NTMG began.
This entry was posted in Nail polish and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Caramel Jelly

  1. Kae says:

    Very pretty shade! This instantly made me think of Morinaga caramels, haven’t had some of those in 10 years! Then that made me think of Milky candy, strawberry cream to be exact, aaaaah

  2. nevertoomuchglitter says:

    Kae- I’m going to have to run down to the quicky mart to get some of those! Japanese canday is pretty good and I should stop eating it!

  3. Looks like you painted your nails with melted caramel candies!!! THis looks great!!

  4. Deniz says:

    Reminds me of Snickers and caramel ice cream! Mmmm =) And I’m not a caramel person at all!!!

  5. Lucy says:

    Okay Jen, you made us all hungry for caramel! Love the color. Brooke got it right with the melted caramel. You always do such a good job.

  6. nevertoomuchglitter says:

    All right ladies, it’s caramel time all around!
    I really did make myself hungry with this one.

Leave a Reply

