Easter Eggs II- The Mud Egg

Here’s that last Easter manicure I promised you. It’s easy to do and is kind of a fun trip down memory lane-  my family’s Easter egg-making tradition.

Back in my childhood Easter egg-making days, I would carefully try to make attractive eggs (I was a color junkie even then!) with stripes, stickers, glitter, wax crayones, etc. I knew they were just going to get eaten, but I wanted to make fabulous eggs nonetheless.

My dad, who is quite a funny guy, would make the ugliest egg he could. It was always brown and we called it the Mud Egg. It became a tradition and somehow it always wound up in my Easter basket. It’s been a very long time since I got a mud egg from my dad. I’m not sure if he still makes one if he gets the chance. I sort of hope not, because it wouldn’t surprise me if he sent it to me in Japan- by slow boat.

So, the ring finger on this manicure is the Mud Egg, a brown, hideous egg nestled amongst bejewled, color-coordinated eggs.

img_3890

The most important thing for this is to paint your nails first with a good, solid white. I then painted stripes in various pastel colors. After they dried, I added a coat of glitter topcoat (any will do) and then stuck on the rhinestones and pearls.

The Mud Egg nail was made of orange creme mixed with green creme, which made a burgundyish brown. To cancel out the purple and bring the color more towards mud brown, I added a couple drops of neon yellow. Voila! The Mud Egg.

Of course, there’s more to Easter than mud eggs and bunnies, but I hope you enjoyed these Easter nail arts. Have a happy Easter!

About nevertoomuchglitter

Nail artist. Wanderer. I'm a color-holic, in fact, it was my love of color that brought me to the nail art world. Well, that, and the fact I was too cheap to pay crazy Japanese prices for nail polish while living in Tokyo, so I had to start mixing my own. That's how NTMG began.
This entry was posted in Holiday Nails, Nail polish, NTMG Original Nail Art and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Easter Eggs II- The Mud Egg

  1. lianne says:

    That’s a lovely story, and I do actually rather like the brown! Looks a bit like You Don’t Know Jacques in that picture.

  2. Lucy says:

    Thanks for the Easter story. I like what you did with your mud egg nail and the pretty colored nails. It’s like keeping up with a tradition. I bet your Dad would really be touched by it.

  3. Alexlyndra says:

    I like this mani! All the colours with the mud egg, and a nice story!

Leave a Reply

