Sakura

Sakura means “cherry blossom” in Japanese and that’s the theme for today.

This is a medium slightly dirty pink with gold shimmer. First, I mixed up some light gray from white and black, and then added a few drops of China Glaze Red Curl Girl, a medium red shimmer. But..it needed something else. I added some  gold powder highlighter to it to get a more interesting texture. I’m not sure why I bought metallic gold highlighter/blush. It seemed like a good idea at the time, but unless disco is coming back around, then I don’t really have any use for it. I just brushed the powder into the nail polish and swirled it in.

img_3136

img_3137

I used an old sheer dusty pink I had around (Avon?) to paint the tips, and then I added a few pink and white decals under the tip line.

img_3140

img_3139

The cherry blossoms are gorgeous at the moment here in Japan, so I think I’ll have lunch outside and enjoy the pink flowers all around. There’s a little temple near my office where people can sit outside, and it’s very relaxing- and there’s three big cherry trees which are rumored to be 500 years old. I hope I look that good in my old age!

About nevertoomuchglitter

Nail artist. Wanderer. I'm a color-holic, in fact, it was my love of color that brought me to the nail art world. Well, that, and the fact I was too cheap to pay crazy Japanese prices for nail polish while living in Tokyo, so I had to start mixing my own. That's how NTMG began.
This entry was posted in Nail polish, Pinks and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Sakura

  1. Lucy says:

    Very pretty! Love the nail tip color. How lucky to go out and be among the cherry blossoms. Enjoy yourself!

  2. Areli says:

    I’m so jealous! Japan is in my top three countries I want to visit before kicking the bucket! 🙂 Gorgeous color and perfect name

  3. very pretty spring time mani!

    Well my nail art easter Idea I was inspired by from your site a few posts back just wouldn’t work! grrr!

  4. nevertoomuchglitter says:

    Lucy- Thanks! I’ll even try to get some photos so I can match the exact flower color. 🙂

    Areli- I’ve been here in Japan for quite a while now, over 5 years, and you should visit- there’s so much more to Japan than Tokyo and shopping (those that’s a lot of fun too!)

    Brooke- I know, sometimes nails just don’t want to cooperate- when things get really messed up, I just paint the mani on nail tips and then stick em on.

  5. Brooke says:

    I was thinking I should have done it on my mom’s nails since hers are so long, and it might be easier painting my little designs on someone else instead of my own nails! OH well!

Leave a Reply

