Kelly Green

I’m still learning to work with Konad tip patterns. They can be very striking but are hard to maneuver, especially since I have fairly short nails which are also small.

 

I’ve been wanting a good, medium non-streaky green crème lately. Out came the franken materials!  This creamy green was made of half Color Club Wild Child, an electric medium seafoam green, and half China Glaze Bermuda Breakaway, a medium blue crème. It made a nice creamy medium green that was just begging to be Konaded.

img_3112

img_3117

I used the polka tip pattern with white Konad polish. The pattern is fairly thick, I probably would have done better with a thinner one, but I guess this size suits more people’s nails. Konad tip patterns are still a work in progress, and I messed up my left hand (no photos of that!) but I hope to get the hang of it soon. I like the design despite its crookedness.

img_3127

img_3126

This week, I have some fun stuff coming up, including a MAC Peppermint Patty franken. It’s sold out, but I’ll show you how to make a duplicate and save some bucks at the same time! Also coming up: some new Konad plates,  veggie nail art and a few other surprises.

Also, there’s a poll on the sidebar for the next Color Week.  In case you missed it, Color Week is a blitz of frankens with a single color theme. Last time it was purple.  What color do you want to see more of? Let me know by voting or leaving a comment.

About nevertoomuchglitter

Nail artist. Wanderer. I'm a color-holic, in fact, it was my love of color that brought me to the nail art world. Well, that, and the fact I was too cheap to pay crazy Japanese prices for nail polish while living in Tokyo, so I had to start mixing my own. That's how NTMG began.
This entry was posted in Greens, Konad, Nail polish and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Kelly Green

  1. Areli says:

    WOW this kelly green is simply HEAVENLY! u saw it and my jaw dropped! it is so gorgeous! 🙂

  2. Areli says:

    i saw it* 😛

  3. Lucy says:

    Love Love that green! Adorable Konad tip. I’m glad you are going to show how to franken Peppermint Patty. I missed out on that and I would love to know how to make it. Thanks Jen!

  4. THose french tip patterns are a bit of a pain to line up, aren’t they! I think you did a pretty good job of it though!

  5. Alexlyndra says:

    I have never seen such good job applying nail polish. It’s like, perfect! Is it complete skills or do you use some tool or something to get this result?

  6. nevertoomuchglitter says:

    Areli- Glad you liked it! There should be some more creamy greens on the market, I think!

    Lucy- Thanks as always! PP will be coming up this weekend. I came up with a good color, but it’s just begging for some nail art….

    Brooke- Still trying with those tip patterns, but I’m having fun!

    Alexlyndra- I have a couple tools in my nail polish trick bag. When I wear dark colors, I apply cuticle oil or cream almost to the edge of my nail, all around the nail. If I smudge any polish onto the cuticles, it can be wiped off very easily. Also, I clean up with a small brush or cotton swab dipped in polish remover. Reds and darks will stain if you just use the nail polish remover without applying oil or cream first.

    But, I change my nail polish color often- if the oil gets on your nails directly, it will really shorten the life of your manicure. But I don’t worry about that because my nails change constantly!

  7. Brooke says:

    Great tip on applying the oil around the nails before painting!!

  8. nevertoomuchglitter says:

    Brooke- It works but you need a tiny, firm paintbrush. If there’s oil on your nails, it results in the streakiest mani ever. But it makes it way easier to clean up the dark colors.

Leave a Reply

