Purple Kimono

Here’s a medium purple inspired by a kimono. It’s cherry blossom season in Japan, and some traditional folks wear kimono for ‘hanami,’ or cherry-blossom picnics. It’s also the end of the school year, so there are graduation ceremonies, etc. and a lot of occasions to wear traditional formalwear.

Kimono have some bold designs and so do my nails. I used a lot more stickers than I normally would have.

First: The base is made out of half Essie Fishnet Stockings, a true deep medium red creme, and  half Sation Midnight Blue (a deep blue shimmer, el cheap-o dollar brand). I added some silver shimmer eyeshadow that I never used.

img_3156

img_3158

From there, I plastered on the Japanese decals. I’m not sure how I feel about this manicure, but it did look rather like the kimono I saw in the park.

img_3159

img_3160

About nevertoomuchglitter

Nail artist. Wanderer. I'm a color-holic, in fact, it was my love of color that brought me to the nail art world. Well, that, and the fact I was too cheap to pay crazy Japanese prices for nail polish while living in Tokyo, so I had to start mixing my own. That's how NTMG began.
This entry was posted in Nail polish, Purples and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Purple Kimono

  1. Kae says:

    What a lovely purple color! The decals look great and I also like the hint of shimmer 🙂

  2. I think it looks good. I think it would be fun to get to wear a kimono.

  3. Lucy says:

    Very pretty manicure. It really does look like a kimono design. I owned a kimono style robe a long time ago. It was red with a floral design. I wore it out with black slacks and a black turtleneck. It was so pretty. Of course I hadbright red nails to match it. I had so many compliments. Wish I had taken a picture of myself in it.

  4. nevertoomuchglitter says:

    Kae- Thank you! I’m glad you liked it.

    Brooke- You can dress up in kimono, get your hair + makeup done, etc. at a temple or in a garden here in Japan (sort of like in America they have those old-fashioned Wild West photos. They even have little kimonos for doggies! You and Dinky should come.

    Lucy- That sounds really sharp!

Leave a Reply

