Cowgirl Up Sparkle

More purples have arrived!

Here’s a great color- a warm-based purple shimmer- China Glaze Cowgirl Up. Great formula, great application, and a wonderful lit-from-within glow. But…could it be improved with glitter? If you’re a regular reader, I’m sure you know the answer to that! Here’s Cowgirl Up on its own .

It is a great color by itself, but I added some ultrafine blue MAC glitter to this. MAC is quite an expensive choice, but the quality seems to be good. When I bought that little jar of sparkles, I had no idea how long it would take me to use it up. A little certainly goes a long way. The blue glitter brings out the depth of the purple and adds some visual interest.

 

If you don’t want to add the glitter directly to the polish, you can always make a glittery topcoat by adding the glitter to some clear varnish. This will make a nice topcoat whenever you want to add a little extra bling. Some glitters will lose their color and turn a dull silver when they hit the nail polish, so it’s a good idea to check that out before ruining a good manicure! 

img_3190

img_3191

About nevertoomuchglitter

Nail artist. Wanderer. I'm a color-holic, in fact, it was my love of color that brought me to the nail art world. Well, that, and the fact I was too cheap to pay crazy Japanese prices for nail polish while living in Tokyo, so I had to start mixing my own. That's how NTMG began.
This entry was posted in Nail polish, Purples and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Cowgirl Up Sparkle

  1. THis is cool, it kind of has a flakey look to it.

  2. Lucy says:

    Ohhhh another beauty! It really adds a beautiful dimenion to the polish. I didn’t know that about the glitter. Good to know. So you can’t just throw any old glitter in clear polish.

  3. nevertoomuchglitter says:

    Glad you liked it! 🙂 Now I just need to make about 1000 more frankens to use up all that glitter!

Leave a Reply

