Neon Orange Jelly

It’s Friday, and my boss is out of the office, so I’m going with a super bright color for today!

I like neons, but sometimes they’re a little too solid for me and I’d prefer a more glossy, jelly-like finish.

This orange was mixed from 1/3 China Glaze Rose Among Thorns, a slighty muted pinkish neon crème, and 2/3 China Glaze Celtic Sun, a blazing neon yellow that reminds me of highlighter ink. It took three coats to be opaque.

img_3172

img_3173

A little Konading was in order! I found that Color Club On Fire, a medium neon pink, worked with the Konad, but it was too dark to show up on the orange base. So I mixed it with some white Konad polish, and it showed up well.

img_3176

img_3175

Let’s hear it for the 80s! This might have made a better pedicure, but it was fun to do. As an added bonus, you can also direct traffic with these as well.

About nevertoomuchglitter

Nail artist. Wanderer. I'm a color-holic, in fact, it was my love of color that brought me to the nail art world. Well, that, and the fact I was too cheap to pay crazy Japanese prices for nail polish while living in Tokyo, so I had to start mixing my own. That's how NTMG began.
This entry was posted in Brights, Konad, Nail polish, Oranges and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Neon Orange Jelly

  1. Katie says:

    woooow…I am not really into neon but this….this is a perfect example of it!!propably the best neon I’ve ever seen till now!!very good job!

  2. Brooke says:

    lol at directing traffic!! the orange on it’s own looked so juicy 🙂 I love pink and orange together. This looks great 🙂

  3. Lucy says:

    I like the neon color. Very pretty. Your konading always looks great.

  4. nevertoomuchglitter says:

    Thanks everyone! I think I’ll make a juicy green too- I’ve been having a lot of fun with this one.

  5. Jamie says:

    I love it! The perfect way to end the week! 🙂

  6. Volyund says:

    You know, I don’t like neons at all, what so ever, but that color is just beautiful.

    That is probably one of your most unique colors.
    Did you ever consider finding a job as a new color maker in any of the nail polish companies? You have a great portfolio to show them. Or you could start something on your own. You could start selling them in small local stores, or in some fashion stores in Shinjuku.
    I would pay $10-$15 for that orange color, and for some of your other colors as well. But then again, I’m spoiled by cheap polishes in US, in Japan they might pay even more. Or you could even make one of a kind original colors to order. Many people would love that kind of stuff.

    • nevertoomuchglitter says:

      Thanks for stopping by, Volyund. I have a web shop on Etsy, an online market place for crafts and handmade goods at http://www.nevertoomuchglitter.etsy.com
      At the moment, I’m only selling nail tips and press-on nails. I would love to sell polish, but the regulations are causing some problems. First, in Japan, the EU and US, all the ingredients in the polish have to be identified due to allergy concerns, etc. I can guess what’s in the polish, but I need a lab to analyze each one. The other thing is that nail polish can’t be shipped by air. I’ve snuck a few bottles here and there, but I was warned against sending NP in the future.

      I’m glad you like the orange- it’s a pretty easy one to franken, at least! 🙂

Leave a Reply

