Bluebell

I recently ordered Essie Huckle Buckle, a bluish purple sheer. I thought it would be more opaque from the photos, but after applying 5 coats and still not getting bottle color, I almost gave up. I love bluish purples, but this was too hard to work with. I am too cheap to throw it away, though, so I decided to make a franken with it while still keeping the pretty blue quality of it.

img_2863

I mixed it half and half with Sinful Colors What’s Your Name, a dark purple with microglitter, I got a gorgeous periwinkly purple. For colors that are too sheer, try layering over a darker base. I don’t like sheer polish all that much, but that’s just me.

img_2851

I really like this color and might actually wear it again!

img_2856

About nevertoomuchglitter

Nail artist. Wanderer. I'm a color-holic, in fact, it was my love of color that brought me to the nail art world. Well, that, and the fact I was too cheap to pay crazy Japanese prices for nail polish while living in Tokyo, so I had to start mixing my own. That's how NTMG began.
This entry was posted in Blues, Nail polish, Purples and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Bluebell

  1. renatabatata says:

    Hi!
    I linked your blog in a post! I used one of your photos and gave you the proper credit! But I’d like to have your official permission to use it.
    It’s scheduled for tomorrow!

    Your blog is great and your pictures are perfect!

    Kisses!

    Renata

  2. Dee says:

    another good one!

    Drives me nuts when more than 3 coats is needed ( all polishes should be opaque in 2! ) This looks like an intense polish-I like micro-glitter with a contrasting color, very, very cool.

  3. I hear ya on those darn sheers!! This one turned out really nice though.

  4. Lucy says:

    I hate sheer polishes. A creme shouldn’t be sheer! It’s a very pretty color that you made.

  5. Sydney says:

    OMG!
    I need this color. It is exactly the color that i was looking for.
    Can you please tell me how you made it? Give me the exact details!

  6. nevertoomuchglitter says:

    Hi Sydney,

    Just mix half Huckle Buckle with half Sinful Colors What’s Your name in a mixing pallette or muffin tin, or shallow dish. Mix with a paintbrush or nail polish brush, then apply.

    You can pour put the nail polish into little puddles and measure by eye, but this is difficult for beginners. It’s probably better add it drop by drop. Add 10 drops of Huckle Buckle to your pallette or dish, then add 10 drops Sinful Colors and mix.

Leave a Reply

