Wisteria

It’s a beautiful Sunday and I’m still feeling crummy. I’m sure this rotten old flu will pass, but it’s no fun until it does. So, I’m going to show you something I did earlier this week.

I like buying cosmetics way more than I actually like wearing them. I suspect a lot of ladies are the same way! Part of it is that I don’t have the time in the morning to get all dolled up. In fact, except for my nails, I don’t usually wear makeup. A sweep of blush and some lipgloss, but forget the rest. I’m not going to fuss with an eyelash curler at 6am.

Anyway, living in a small apartment, I noticed I just had too many eyeshadows in outrageous colors that appealed to me artistically but I wouldn’t wear unless I was entering in a drag-queen impersonation contest. Most of them were really cheap, but purple? turquoise? orange?!

So, I gave them new life as nail polish. It’s easy! Just scrape off the eyeshadow into a little cup or palette, add enough clear varnish to cover, mix well, give it a minute to settle (wait for any bubbles to disappear) and paint on! It may be a little too thick- in that case, add some more varnish, or too sheer- add more eyeshadow.

Another benefit of the eyeshadow is that it’s (probably) been approved for use on the human body, unlike artist’s pigments.

img_2976

I used the second from the right, a shimmery lavender. Lookie what I got!

img_2971

Application was good, but a little runny. It takes a little getting used to because the consistency is slightly different from regular nail polish. Keep stirring the polish in your pallete as you paint to prevent settling. Finish it off with a topcoat.

Denser eyeshadows with full coverage work better than chalky ones, but almost any eyeshadow will work, except for creamy or gel ones. Have fun!

About nevertoomuchglitter

Nail artist. Wanderer. I'm a color-holic, in fact, it was my love of color that brought me to the nail art world. Well, that, and the fact I was too cheap to pay crazy Japanese prices for nail polish while living in Tokyo, so I had to start mixing my own. That's how NTMG began.
This entry was posted in Metallic, Nail polish, Purples and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Wisteria

  1. Nixxy says:

    Wow! That’s so awesome – I never would have thought of that. Belng allergic to formaldehyde, I can only use certain polishes, but this is great – I can try to dupe them with eyeshadow! 🙂

  2. nevertoomuchglitter says:

    Nixxy- Give it a try- as long as your clear polish doesn’t have formaldehyde in it, you should be fine. I hope you can expand your color wardrobe a bunch!

  3. nevertoomuchglitter says:

    oh- I should mention- you can add eyshadow/pigment to any polish- it doesn’t have to be clear, but that’s the easiest to work with at first. I’ve added gold shimmery eyeshadows to deep reds and gotten gorgeous results.

  4. Dee says:

    —— wow every single one of your post is impressive. ——

    I too buy make-up just because, I barely wear it…. all those eye shadow’s i have i will put them to better use. This is an good idea, I’ll try this one to “fix-up / tune-up polishes that are not up to par .

    Has the polish you added gold eyeshadow to held up well ?

  5. Areli says:

    You’re such a genius! 🙂 this is a wonderful idea

  6. Lucy says:

    That is such a marvelous idea! I to have loads of eye shadows I don’t wear. I guess it’s a good idea to buy some empty bottles and clear polish. The sky is the limit.

  7. Areli says:

    Thought i’d update you on my Konad debacle 🙂 Your filing idea worked well! It works now, thank you very much. You saved me a lot of hassle!

    Last question (i’m sorry–it must get so bothersome), but um other than the Konad special nail polishes…what other brands work? I’m not sure but I think you previously said that a China Glaze set worked? Romantique?

    Sorry for all of this but i’m just really excited! 😀

  8. Areli says:

    Or was it one of the OMG or kaleidoscope?
    or did you never mention any of this? 😛

  9. nevertoomuchglitter says:

    Dee- I just mixed up a small batch of red and gold shadow- enough for one manicure. Pigment will settle to the bottom if you add it to a bottle of polish, but if you shake it, it should be fine. I usually make up only enough for one manicure, though. It wore very well, no problems at all.

    Lucy- Aren’t we all makeup hoarders? I don’t buy the expensive stuff, luckily, but I do have quite a stash- glad it’s not just me! 😉

    Areli- No problem! Glad to hear that your Konad is working out! Metallic foil polishes like the China Glaze Romantiques will work with Konad, and so will the very dense holographic polishes like Kaleidoscope. They will work best over contrasting colors.

  10. Brooke says:

    Make up in nail polish – great idea girly!

  11. Sandra says:

    Oh, I did that today with some old eye dusts and it turned out great 😀

Leave a Reply

