Malachite

I really like green, but I can’t really get away with it at work, so I save it for evenings and weekends. I made one recently that I think you’ll enjoy.

It’s inspired by a stone, Malachite.

malachite

Image from http://www.about.com/chemistry

img_2834

I used 10 drops of China Glaze Rodeo Fanatic, a dark bluish shimmer that is slightly teal, and 3 drops of Misa Happy Happy, a bright creme yellow, and finally I added two drops of Color Club Yell-Oh, a bright, bright yellow/greenish neon creme.

img_2835

I wanted to try out my Konad with some metallic non-Konad polish. I’ve been trying to franken the Konad polish and I’ve had some success, but it’s very messy. The polish I used was a metallic, Revlon Petal Chrome, and it worked pretty well. You can mix Konad polishes easily with other colors, but it seems that the polish needs to be fairly thick to work properly.

img_2840

Above, natural light. Below, with flash.

img_2838

About nevertoomuchglitter

Nail artist. Wanderer. I'm a color-holic, in fact, it was my love of color that brought me to the nail art world. Well, that, and the fact I was too cheap to pay crazy Japanese prices for nail polish while living in Tokyo, so I had to start mixing my own. That's how NTMG began.
This entry was posted in Greens, Konad, Nail polish and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Malachite

  1. Areli says:

    Wow gorgeous combination there! 🙂

    If possible, i’d like to ask for a tiny favor…i just received my konad stamper and scraper today and i am utterly and completely disappointed…i was excited because i wanted to order the full nail image plates (like the one you used above) but the stamper/scraper i received is super TINY!…I can’t believe it…I am hoping you’ll help me out, however, if you wouldn’t mind 🙂 Could you measure the width and height of the full nail pattern you used above? I would just like to know if I can get away without having to order another stamper/scraper set and just use this tiny one…

    I would REALLY appreciate it…but please feel free to decline if you’re busy or something 🙂

  2. nevertoomuchglitter says:

    Hi, Areli. No problem!
    The full nail pattern is 1.5cm tall by 1cm wide.
    That’s like 6/10 of an inch tall by 4/10 of an inch wide. Let me know how your Konading goes!

  3. nice color combo! I have no clue what malachite is though ???

  4. Jamie says:

    That’s simply beautiful, and I love the image you stamped too. Really wonderful colors!

  5. nevertoomuchglitter says:

    Update: I added a photo because not everyone is a geology nerd like me!

Leave a Reply

