Rainbow’s End

Here’s another St. Patty’s Day manicure. This one shows the rainbow and the pot of gold at the end! In this case, the “gold” is yellow rhinestones, but this one was still a lot of fun. The rainbow stretches across the nails and ends on the thumb.

The easiest way to make rainbows:

1. Paint on a basecoat of bright white and let dry.

2. Paint the whole nail yellow. Add red stripe on top while nails are still wet, and then make the orange stripe with red and yellow.

3. Leave a small area blank for your yellow stripe, then add a neon yellow stripe underneath. I know there is no neon yellow in a rainbow, but it makes a nice transition in the colors. Then add green, blue, and purple. It’s easier to paint across in a stripe rather than an arc.

img_2677

img_2678

And here was my favorite part: the pot o’ gold.

img_2682

I painted this a few times on my nails, but kept smudging, so I did this one on a tip and stuck it on. The rhinestones are teeny tiny and were tricky to work with, but I really like them.

I painted the nail half sky blue and half green, drew the pot outline with my Sally Hansen nail pen, then carefully filled it in with black creme polish and a fine brush. I added some metallic gold to the inside of the pot and then stuck the rhinestones on. I lost one during the course of the day, though.

I hope you like this one! I have a couple more simple holiday manicures coming up too, for those of you who don’t want to take the time to draw a tiny pot o’gold on your nails.

About nevertoomuchglitter

Nail artist. Wanderer. I'm a color-holic, in fact, it was my love of color that brought me to the nail art world. Well, that, and the fact I was too cheap to pay crazy Japanese prices for nail polish while living in Tokyo, so I had to start mixing my own. That's how NTMG began.
This entry was posted in Holiday Nails, Nail polish, NTMG Original Nail Art and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Rainbow’s End

  1. Lucy says:

    You are so talented. Amazing. Love it.

  2. Elisa says:

    AMAZING! the pot is adorable 🙂

  3. alexis says:

    I love it

  4. omg!! i LOVE this one!! so cute and artistic and bright.

Leave a Reply

