Tequila Sunrise

I’m lucky enough to have an apartment with a great city view and I see the sunrise each morning because I need to be on a subway at 6:55 am, so today my inspiration was ‘Sunrise.’  I’m enjoying my gradation liquid and still getting used to using it, but practice makes perfect, right?

First I made a base out of orange glitter. 1/3 creme red, 2/3 creme yellow. Mix together, then carefully add some foil metallic polish, such as OPI I Get a Kick Out of Gold or Color Club What A Drag. I used a gold-based metallic polish to get a warmer orange.

img_2568

I had some of this orange franken polish left over. I added some red creme to it to get a pinky-orange sparkle. I painted this across the top quarter of my nail and added a thin stripe of burgundy creme (Color Club Killer Curves) to the tip. I then painted on my gradation liquid while my nails were still wet, painting horizontally across every stripe and then a quick swipe downward from tip to cuticle. This is what blurs the colors together to make the gradation. Please ignore the smudge on my ring finger, I got over-excited.

Here’s the final result:

img_2575

img_2573

About nevertoomuchglitter

Nail artist. Wanderer. I'm a color-holic, in fact, it was my love of color that brought me to the nail art world. Well, that, and the fact I was too cheap to pay crazy Japanese prices for nail polish while living in Tokyo, so I had to start mixing my own. That's how NTMG began.
This entry was posted in Nail polish, NTMG Original Nail Art and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Tequila Sunrise

  1. Steph says:

    Holy cow! I love that 😀

  2. Elisa says:

    Wow! With the graduation liquid, the name sunrise is just perfect! 🙂

  3. Nessa says:

    Very tequila-y!

  4. SO COOOL! I love that gradiation liquid. Why cant the US get with it on nails?!!

  5. amber says:

    They don’t sell gradation liquid here in the US?! Oh no… 😦 great. Can it be purchased online?

  6. nevertoomuchglitter says:

    Amber, I think gradation liquid is fairly hard to find anywhere outside of Japan. It’s just a solvent that thins the colors and makes them run together, but it dries really fast so the colors don’t get too diluted. I’ve been looking into substitutes for it in the art store, but nothing yet. I don’t know of where you can order it online, but it’s gotta be available somewhere. I’ll let you know if I find it anywhere.

  7. kristie says:

    that looks great im doing nail art now in my beauty studies and i wish i could be that creative!!!!

Leave a Reply

