Japanese Nail Art 3

Since everyone loves some Japanese nail art, I thought I’d wade through a few nail salon pages and bring you some highlights:

Above: Sapphire Nails, Tokyo.  I like this but I think I’d change the pattern a bit.

blue-reef
Reminds me of pirates, though I don’t think I’d wear this.  Blue Reef  Salon, Tokyo.
fantemille-2
Wow- not only candy and fruit, but pastries?! Is that a churro on the right?
fantemillie1
Both images from Fantemille Salon, Tokyo.
kiki
Pink overdose with plastic hearts, flowers and bubbly shapes. Very princessy, with a pricetag of around $100. Kiki Salon, Tokyo.
five-star
Five Star Salon, Tokyo. Transparent bits, arglye, hearts and a giant ribbon. But why is the ribbon burgundy?
musee-shibuya
How can anyone function with these? Nail Musee Shibuya Salon, Tokyo.
salon-pinky
A Louis Vuitton logo in the middle. You can even get a bikini wax with the LV or Chanel logo in Japan! LV is like an epidemic here, it’s ugly and I’m tired of seeing it. Socks, belts, hairclips, stud earrings, and worst of all, a baby bib…and now nail art? Pinky Salon, Tokyo.
beau-nail
Glittertastic! Beau Nail, Tokyo.
absorb-1
Nail Salon Absorb, Tokyo.  Gold chains and tiny golf balls (?).
04
Hearts, glitter and rhinestones. Another very girly one.  Nail Salon Mauna Kea, Tokyo.
About nevertoomuchglitter

Nail artist. Wanderer. I'm a color-holic, in fact, it was my love of color that brought me to the nail art world. Well, that, and the fact I was too cheap to pay crazy Japanese prices for nail polish while living in Tokyo, so I had to start mixing my own. That's how NTMG began.
This entry was posted in Japanese Nail Art, Nail polish, NTMG Original Nail Art and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Japanese Nail Art 3

  1. Ok, the food nails – the waffle with the butter and syrup – get outta here!! I would SOOOOO wear some nails with waffles on them – lmao!!

    The glittertastic ones are my faves though! Those are some I really would wear 🙂

    Thanks for the pics I really like looking at these nails.

  2. nevertoomuchglitter says:

    Brooke- For some reason, that churro really cracked me up! I guess the Japanese looked at pictures and tried to re-create it, because there are no churros in Japan at all. There are waffles, but something about that churro is hilarious. Maybe I’ll get a set of food nails before I go. They could probably make anything- that artist looks really talented. But it’ll cost around $160. Ouch!

  3. Lucy says:

    There are some crazy manicureout there! I alsolove the glitter nails. Ican’t imagine how you could wear those sharply pointed nails. I know I would stab myself in many places!

  4. nevertoomuchglitter says:

    Lucy- me too! I hope the ladies wearing those claws don’t have contacts! Yikes!

  5. Hannah says:

    kool how did you make the love hearts on the last picture???

  6. Kristen says:

    Hey, I love using findings as reference pictures my manicurist but I can’t work out the backwards translation of Fantemille Salon. Can you give me their site so I could maybe go through their samples and blog archives to see what they’ve done? They are just soooo amazingly kitsch!

  7. Astrid says:

    Awesome article! thank you so much for posting it up. I’ll be going to Tokyo for the first time (Im from NYC) and I cant wait to get my nails done! but everything is soooo expensive! Are there any other places you would recommend for under $50 or lower (if that’s even possible lol)?

    Thank you! 🙂

    • nevertoomuchglitter says:

      Hi Astrid,
      Unfortunately in Tokyo, nothing will run under $50, especially with the very strong yen right now. You can buy some from my shop 🙂 http://www.nevertoomuchglitter.etsy.com (shameless self-promotion, sorry!) but having them done in a salon will run $50-80. It is not necessary to tip in Japan, but services are very expensive. 😦

      • astrid says:

        Oh God, I knew that answer already 😦 do u have a shop in Tokyo? Id love to meet and buy them from u in person 🙂 thanks for all the info!

      • nevertoomuchglitter says:

        Hi Astrid! I don’t have a shop but you would be most welcome to stop by my home studio and say hi- I’m about 20 minutes from Shinjuku. I’d be happy to show you around and maybe grab a bit to eat if you have any spare time! Drop me an email with your travel details and let’s see if we can meet up!

Leave a Reply

