Fuschia Flash

Usually I’m not too crazy about pink, but sometimes I do get in the mood.  I am a lipstick frankener in addition to being a polish frankener. I don’t have nearly as much lipstick as I do nail polish, thank goodness. I’m especially a sucker for pretty lipglosses in sets and cases.

Here’s Sephora’s Shimmer Harmony Gloss:

img_2548

Sparkly, glitter, variety of colors. Good, right?

Nope, it’s sticky, way too sheer and it tastes like licking ashphalt. For anyone who loves the taste of petroleum, this one’s for you. I usually don’t care how lip products smell/taste, but this one is nasty.

So, I decided to use it as a franken inspiration. I frankened the second color on the left, the medium pink with the blue/green flash.

This called for some creme red, creme white (I used China Glaze Whiteout) and a translucent color with green microshimmer-  I used Pure Ice Heartbreaker.

Pour out a bit of white, add the red drop by drop, and then mix until you get the shade of pink you want. I then applied 2 coats and then applied a coat of Pure Ice Heartbreaker to supply the sparkly green flash.

img_2552

The nails were really sparkly, so the light bounced off in a strange way, but it’s a dead-on match.

img_2562

This would be a nice summer color, or a fun pedicure. Pink’s not always my cup of tea, but this was a fun franken to make.

After this, there will be a few cute St. Patty’s day manicures involving tiny rhinestones and a pot o’gold, some holiday gradations, and lots of green sparkles.

About nevertoomuchglitter

Nail artist. Wanderer. I'm a color-holic, in fact, it was my love of color that brought me to the nail art world. Well, that, and the fact I was too cheap to pay crazy Japanese prices for nail polish while living in Tokyo, so I had to start mixing my own. That's how NTMG began.
This entry was posted in Nail polish, Pinks and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Fuschia Flash

  1. This reminds me of a pure ice color I just used the other day, I wish I could think of the name of it. I like this one alot. I like pinks that have that sort of blueish flash to them.

  2. i have the same lip palette…i’ve never used it, though. the color looks great!

  3. nevertoomuchglitter says:

    Brooke- I like those jewel tones with a light flash too- especially pink with orange flash. I’m trying out a new pigment company soon, so expect to see some more of those.

    Asian Girl- Tell me what you think of it. I didn’t like it, but maybe I was expecting something different? The taste was Bleech, though.

  4. amber says:

    WOW I think this one of my favorites of yours. This and “slug” hehe. I still love slug. Sephora name brand glosses aren’t usually that great. Except for those shine ones that come in the tub. They’re not sticky!! HUGE feat IMO.

    When you apply your frankens with a clear coat brush, do you ever get colors accidenally mixed in from past uses? Or do you just clean the brush really well? I feel so bad asking so many questions! :/

  5. nevertoomuchglitter says:

    Hey Amber-
    No problem- I like questions! Yes, my bottle of clear does get pretty scrummy after a while. I wipe the brush on a piece of lint-free cloth before and after using it for frankens. I just use an el-cheapo bottle of clear, so I don’t feel too bad about trashing it. I need to change the bottle every 40-50 frankens or so, or more if I’ve been doing a lot of dark colors.

  6. amber says:

    ooh cool. Good to know! Look out Wet N Wild! Here I come! LOL

Leave a Reply

