New Penny

Howdy all! I’m still up in the mountains of Japan. I’m the announcer for an international snowboarding competition, the Nissan X-Trail Asian Open, until Sunday. I have gotten a few great franken ideas (metallic foil blurple, mist gray shimmer, summer wheat creme), but of course I’m away from my polish stash, so they’ll have to wait for a little while. But I didn’t want to deprive anyone of frankens, so I’ll post using some photos I took before to share with you.

Today’s color is a glowing copper glitter. I got Maybelliene Copper Sand in a dollar store, but it was kind of dull. It’s a metallic copper, nice shade, but it didn’t have any zing at all. Franken to the rescue!

To get a metallic to really glow, it needs to be slightly darkened and more shimmer needs to be added.

I added several drops of black creme to the Copper Sand to darken it a little. From there, I added some shimmery gold- OPI I Get A Kick Out Of Gold. This is a saturated gold shimmer with foil finish that will add metallic zing to anything. However, it will lighten whatever you add it to, which is why I darkened the base with black creme first. You don’t need OPI, but you do need a foil-y, opaque gold.

img_2369

I wore the color without a topcoat all day, but decided to add a little glitter for the evening.

img_2374

img_2375

At least with Pa nail polish, you won’t get tired of the color! You can only get a couple manicures from it. Here it is next to a big, hulking bottle of OPI. Ya gotta love Japan.

img_2378

About nevertoomuchglitter

Nail artist. Wanderer. I'm a color-holic, in fact, it was my love of color that brought me to the nail art world. Well, that, and the fact I was too cheap to pay crazy Japanese prices for nail polish while living in Tokyo, so I had to start mixing my own. That's how NTMG began.
This entry was posted in Metallic, Nail polish, Oranges and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to New Penny

  1. wow, that really does look just like a brand new penny! I like it with the glitters added to it the best though – gotta have my glitters πŸ™‚

    Have fun up in the mountains!

  2. PBG says:

    Lovely! It is indeed a new penny!

  3. Jamie says:

    I love it both ways! πŸ™‚

    I wish they would put more nail polishes in small bottles like that. So much less wasteful to buy a little bottle that’s easy to use up than a big bottle I’m unlikely to finish…

  4. Lucy says:

    Enjoy your mountain views. Love the color before the glitter. Just so pretty.

  5. Elisa says:

    Wow! that event sounds so exciting! πŸ™‚ Can’t wait for your franken ideas!
    That truly does look like a penny–very shiny!

Leave a Reply

