Xtreme Yellow

This color is loud, to put it mildly. It was a gray day today, and supposed to be gray for a while, so I decided bright polish was the way to go.

My beef with yellows is that they’re usually really sheer. I like the sheer look, but  sometimes it just looks like nail fungus. This is 1980s in-your-face electric yellow. I got this color by mixing white pigment with creme yellow polish (dollar store special, as usual).  The white pigment lightened it up and made it totally opaque. This is one coat.

I made a puddle the size of an almond and added about 1/4 teaspoon of pigment and mixed- a lot. The polish was rather thick and dried a little rough, but I was pleased with the opaqueness and coverage.

A word about pigment: Be careful and do not use any pigment that is not intended for skin. Some artists pigments, such as cadmium or cobalt, are POISON. If it says not to touch it, don’t put it on your nails!!! Also, open the pigment carefully and add carefully. Do not make a little pigment dust cloud. You do not want to breathe in pigment dust. It only takes one time of spitting blue for a couple days to reinforce this.

img_2166

Then I busted out the Konad, because this color just wasn’t noticeable enough already:

1980s Spiderman/Geometric kinda pattern:

img_2170

I used the Konad Princess Special Polish in Black Gold for this. I don’t like it because the coverage is not good. Stick with the plain black- the design looks crisper.

Still, with this design, I half-expected some guy with long hair to pop out with a Gibson Flying V guitar and play a cheesy solo. 80s all the way!

To balance things out, I tried a flower design on the other hand:

img_2172

This one is more 60s- acoustic guitar and warbling out of tune around a campfire. I like the flowers a lot, which is usually not my style, but I’m enjoying this.

I hope my hippie 60s nails and my 80s power ballad nails don’t get into a fight.

About nevertoomuchglitter

Nail artist. Wanderer. I'm a color-holic, in fact, it was my love of color that brought me to the nail art world. Well, that, and the fact I was too cheap to pay crazy Japanese prices for nail polish while living in Tokyo, so I had to start mixing my own. That's how NTMG began.
This entry was posted in Brights, Konad, Nail polish, Pastel, Yellows and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Xtreme Yellow

  1. amber says:

    I really like your floral nails!!

    When you say “pigment” do you mean, like loose in a jar, buy at a craft store, pigment? What kind do you use?

  2. PBG says:

    80s nails vs. 60s nails! I love them! Great job on the color. I’m a big fan of the brights.

  3. Elisa says:

    I quite like the geometric konad with the yellow! Looks very modern IMO 🙂 Wonderful shade of yellow !

  4. amber says:

    oooh… I have so many questions for you! I hope you don’t mind.

    1. Do you mix your colors in a nail polish bottle? Or do you mix them on like a plate or something?

    2. How you do you apply your polish? With a nail polish brush, or a small paint brush. If you use a paint brush, do you just clean it with nail polish remover? Does it harm the brush?

    3. What konad plate is that awesome floral?

    yeah…I think those are it. Sorry I have so many questions! Its just that this is so inspiring and I am finishing my BS in Art this year, and the artist in me totally relates and want to do this too! 🙂 thank you!!

    amber

    ambersmouthwash.blogspot.com

  5. Lucy says:

    I don’t know which pattern I like better. They are both pretty fabulous! Nice job.

  6. nevertoomuchglitter says:

    Thanks everyone for your nice comments! It’s amazing what a little Konading will do. I like the flowers a bit better, I think.

    Amber- I’ll be doing a pigment tutorial soon. I mix my colors in a silicone baking cup, only enough for one manicure at a time. I dump the polish in and mix with a polish brush stored in a bottle of clear varnish. I paint with that brush too. You can use a paintbrush as well, but they tend to get a little crunchy and fall apart as the polish remover dissolves the glue holding the bristles eventually.

    I add the pigment to the polish with a tiny spoon and mix, mix, mix. It does get air bubbles, so it needs to sit for a little while. It will be a little thcker than regular polish and dries totally matte.

    As for the pigment, you can buy it in a craft store, but check that it’s non-toxic! Cadmium, ultramarine, etc. are definite no-nos. Companies such as MAC sell pigments too, but you’re mostly paying for the name in that case. Check on the net for cosmetic pigments. A company called Fyrinnae sells pigment too, and I’ve heard good things but never used them.

    http://www.fyrinnae.com/

    I’ll be doing the tutorial maybe next weekend as I’ll be travelling. I’ll check the Konad plate when I’m home-it’s a fun plate!

  7. amber says:

    thank you so much!

  8. That first one was totally 80’s! Do you remember jams (the pant/shorts)? The pattern totally reminded me of a pair that my grandma made for me and my sisters – lmao @ jams and homemade ones at that!

    Plus I don’t think the nails will fight, weren’t the 60’s all about make love not war? 🙂

  9. nevertoomuchglitter says:

    Brooke- LOL! Of course I remember Jams! I think they might even have been called Jamz! because they were so extreme! That’s really cool that your grandma made you homemade Jams! I should have called that manicure Jamz Yellow. Next neon manicure I made will have Jamz in the nae for sure.

  10. Taylor Beach- Smith says:

    Hey I’m new to all of this and if I hadn’t read what you aid about cobalt being poisonous I would have ended up using it to create my own blue. But if you don’t mind me asking, why is cobalt poison?

    • nevertoomuchglitter says:

      Taylor,
      Cobalt is a heavy metal element, like arsenic or lead. It does exist in trace amounts in the body. It is definitely not good to put on the body and any cobalt pigment will probably be marked as poison. It’s not easy to get your hands on a true cobalt pigment, especially in the US, because of the high toxicity.
      Cadmium makes a gorgeous yellow, but it also highly toxic and is not for use on the body.

      From Wikipedia:
      Cobalt poisoning is the intoxication caused by excessive levels of cobalt in the body. Cobalt naturally occurs in animals in minute amounts and forms part of the structure of Vitamin B-12, which plays an important role in cell metabolism. However, in excessive amounts, cobalt is highly toxic and can cause death.

Leave a Reply

