Mardi Gras Nails

It’s almost Mardi Gras, and while it’s not celebrated in Japan, I thought it would be a good excuse for some nail art.

The colors of Mardi Gras are gold, green, and purple, or at least that’s what I saw in New Orleans. I used Sally Hansen Emerald City for the green, Sally Hansen Teflon Tuff Gold Metal for the gold and China Glaze LOL, a purple holo. I also added some Sinful Colors #61, a blue and purple glitter over the LOL.

img_2525

So today I give you not one but two nail art samples:

The first is painted on a black creme base. I painted a few strands of beads, a tiny mask and a fleur-de-lis, along with some stripes and dots in purple, gold and green.

Unfortunately, the camera doesn’t pick up the gold foil polish very well. And please excuse the chip on my index finger. Don’t open cans with wet nails!

The strands of beads were painted with a dotting tool. I just dotted strands randomly around, not connecting them.

img_2509

img_2508

Abstract design on the indes finger, a little mask on the middle finger- I painted the white shape and hten dotted the eyes in with black, and a fleur-de-lys on my ring finger. I painted the shape with gold and then outlined with my nail pen. Sorry it didn’t show up well.

img_2501

Next Mardi Gras design: Just simple stripes. I got horrible pull from my Seche Vite. SV hates Mardi Gras!

All that aside, I used the same colors as the first nail art and just painted stripes across the nail in random order. Quick and easy- and sparkly. Any holiday with glitter and beads is A-OK in my book!

Laissez les bon temps roulez!

img_2512

img_2513

About nevertoomuchglitter

Nail artist. Wanderer. I'm a color-holic, in fact, it was my love of color that brought me to the nail art world. Well, that, and the fact I was too cheap to pay crazy Japanese prices for nail polish while living in Tokyo, so I had to start mixing my own. That's how NTMG began.
This entry was posted in Nail polish, NTMG Original Nail Art and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Mardi Gras Nails

  1. PBG says:

    Great colors. It all looks very festive! Thanks for this posting. 🙂

  2. I have never been to mardi gra. I love the color combo though of green purple and gold! The mask looks really great 🙂

  3. Elisa says:

    Those are great combinations! The mask is cute 🙂

  4. nevertoomuchglitter says:

    Thanks everyone, I’m glad you liked it.
    I wanted to do something amazing and worthy of Mardi Gras, with really long tips and a feather and some rhinestones, but I just ran out of time as I’m travelling from tomorrow. Mardi Gras is the perfect holiday for super-tacky!

  5. Julie says:

    Hi, thanks for sharing. I live an hour outside of New Orleans and love everything Mardi Gras. I even named my cat Mardi Gras and my dog, Lagniappe (It means “a little something extra”). I will be competing in a student Fantasy nail art competition this month and Mardi Gras is my theme. Send me your email and I will send you pics if you like.

Leave a Reply

