Decadent Moon Over Mumbai

I got OPI Moon Over Mumbai, a light pigeon gray with silver microshimmer. It’s not a creme but looks like it, except in bright light.

It’s a cool color, but on my ghostly white hands, it makes my nails look sort of diseased. I think it would look chic on a darker skin tone so there would be more contrast.

So I mixed it with some of Misa’s Decadent Drifter, a light blue with pink/purple flash. I mixed 2/3 MoM to 1/3 DD. It made an icy lavender gray. Unfortuately, my camera didn’t pick it up under my indoor lighting well, but at least the shimmer is more visible.

img_2242

With some white Konad on plate M64:

img_2251

I added a topcoat and sprinkled some loose holo glitter on.

img_2260

I think Konading a lighter color on a darker base can yield nice results, but it’s more subtle than high-contrast colors. I hope you like it!

About nevertoomuchglitter

Nail artist. Wanderer. I'm a color-holic, in fact, it was my love of color that brought me to the nail art world. Well, that, and the fact I was too cheap to pay crazy Japanese prices for nail polish while living in Tokyo, so I had to start mixing my own. That's how NTMG began.
This entry was posted in Gray Base, Konad, Nail polish and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Decadent Moon Over Mumbai

  1. amber says:

    I want konad design plates so bad!! I just don’t want to pay $35-45 for a set! any recommendations?

  2. nevertoomuchglitter says:

    Amber, you can buy the plates individually for around $6, and the stamp for $3 or so.
    I buy from this site, but they’re in Asia, so it might be expensive to ship to the US. Here’s some of the plates:

    http://www.konadnailart.com/index1.html

    The “special” polish runs about $6 a bottle, but some other polishes will work. I do recommend getting at least a small bottle of the special polish until you get the hang of Konading.

  3. alexis says:

    I just orderd a konad stamping art kit for only 26.99 and i cant wait till it comes in

Leave a Reply

