Vitamin C Manicure

I found tiny little clay (Fimo or Sculpey, I think) fruits in the store and thought they would be really cute for a manicure. In Japan, sticking 3-D plastic food to your nails is considered chic. I passed on the whipped cream and sweets, because they would a) make me hungry; b) seem like something that might attract pedophiles; and c) I’m just not able to pull off that much cute. But fruits? Why not?

There were strawberries, kiwis and oranges in the fruit set. They had another set with apples, lemons and watermelon, if I remember correctly. But the oranges were especially cute.

I did an orange gradation on all fingers except my ring finger, which I painted a dark lime-ish green. Please forgive the bad cuticles.

First, take a look at the photos and then I’ll go through it step by step.

img_2208

Aren’t  those tiny oranges just too much?!?!?

I painted on the orange all over the nail (10 drops creme yellow plus one drop of creme red. After it was dry, I painted the darker orange (10 drops creme yellow plus 2 drops creme red, 2 drops clear) over the each tip and then applied a Seche Vite over the nail, blending from the tip to the cuticle, the opposite way of how I’d usually apply it. I do have gradation liquid, which is really popular in Japan, but I wanted a smoother line. Before the Seche dried completely, I stuck on the oranges.

(By the way, I can do a gradation tutorial later if anyone’s interested. But you may not be able to get the liquid easily outside of Japan, so it may promote unfulfillable longings!)

The green, which I expect some of you ladies may want to see in its own post later, is a medium jelly green. I was actually doing a different franken when I came up with this. I like it a lot- a nice deep green creme.  It’s navy creme plus blackened yellow in a clear base. Try yellow creme to medium blue creme in a 2:1 ratio. Then add 2 drops of creme black to 10 drops clear and combine the two. It looks like a simple color but it a little tricky. I’ll do a whole post on it, because I know deep green creme is really popular! I then added the Seche and stuck the kiwi on. I wish it was a lime rather than a kiwi, though.

This was fun for a dark winter day and I have a few more little fruits left over for when the inspiration strikes in the future.

img_2207

img_2209

About nevertoomuchglitter

Nail artist. Wanderer. I'm a color-holic, in fact, it was my love of color that brought me to the nail art world. Well, that, and the fact I was too cheap to pay crazy Japanese prices for nail polish while living in Tokyo, so I had to start mixing my own. That's how NTMG began.
This entry was posted in Nail polish, NTMG Original Nail Art, Oranges and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Vitamin C Manicure

  1. Nixxy says:

    The cuteness! I cannot stand it! #:)

  2. nevertoomuchglitter says:

    Glad you liked it! I needed a little sunshine on yet another gray Sunday….

  3. Jinnzor says:

    That is FAB! I love it.

  4. Lucy says:

    Wow how cute can you get! I would like to see the watermelon.

  5. jhoannz says:

    nice…. love it!

  6. very cute!! the way you did the nail polish background makes your nails look really juicy!

  7. Jamie says:

    Those clay canes are great, aren’t they? Your nails are just gorgeous and “juicy” looking, as someone else mentioned!

  8. anonymous says:

    Did you use gradation liquid to make your colours blend? They look totally gorgeous! especially the orange 😀

    If you didn’t use gradation liquid, would you mind posting a tutorial on how to blend the colours? thanks 🙂

Leave a Reply

