Lacy Valentine

First of all, let me apologize for the sloppy work that you’re about to see. It’s 11PM and I just got home, and I should be sleeping…but anyway. I did this in a huge rush and it shows, but I think the idea is kind of neat. I wanted to make lacey nails for Valentine’s Day.

First, I started off with OPI Affair in Red Square. This is a nice medium red shimmer. Hot hot hot.

img_2139

From there, I decided to paint a scalloped white edge on the tip, like a piece of lace, and then use my dotting tool to dot red holes on it, so the tip looked lacy. Unfortunately, my dotting tool was MIA, my guy was asleep, and I just grabbed a toothpick to make the dots. I smudged too!

From there, I used my red Sally Hansen nail art pen to draw some swirls to capture that old-world patterned wallpaper look. The nail art pen and nail color are similar, but it makes a cool and subtle pattern. Or at least it would have, if I hadn’t messed it up. I was really tired, but I wanted to post this in the hope that someone could do better with the basic idea.

img_2147

img_2156

About nevertoomuchglitter

Nail artist. Wanderer. I'm a color-holic, in fact, it was my love of color that brought me to the nail art world. Well, that, and the fact I was too cheap to pay crazy Japanese prices for nail polish while living in Tokyo, so I had to start mixing my own. That's how NTMG began.
This entry was posted in Nail polish, NTMG Original Nail Art and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Lacy Valentine

  1. Great idea. You are full of Valentines day nail art ideas and I have had trouble even coming up with ONE!

    What a great way to make “lace”!

    I just got me some of those sally hansen nail art pens. those are pretyy awesome. I like the red against red, it gives it a matte effect against shiney kind of look, very cool.

  2. Jamie says:

    That’s a great idea for lace on the nail tip! I was trying to come up with something “lacy”, but couldn’t quite get myself together to try it. I love your red on red pattern too, very elegant.

    I saw some water decals somewhere that were all lace, and was wishing I had some of those…

    Hope you got some sleep!

  3. Nessa says:

    Cool idea. It’s not that messy.

  4. nevertoomuchglitter says:

    Thanks everyone! I’m going o try it again- with my dotting tool if I can find it. I’m also thinking of working my fishnet Konad in there. That’s how I’m going to spend my Friday night. I’ll show you what I come up with!

  5. Raquel says:

    Please, share your secret! How do you get such neat color near the cuticles? It’s not neat, it’s PERFECT!!! A perfect rounded shape of colour. I clean mine with a tiny eyeliner brush and polish remover and doesn’t get that perfect!

    • nevertoomuchglitter says:

      Hi Raquel- no secret!
      First, I keep my cuticles moisturized because polish will stick to them more easily if they’re dry.
      If I’m doing a dark color or one that’s hard to clean up, I take a really small paintbrush and paint thick handcream around the nail but not on it. I let it soak in for a minute, and then paint my nails. After that, any paint that escaped onto my cuticles can just get wiped off. It sounds complicated, but it doesn’t take a long time, and you get moisturized cuticles too!
      Sometimes I clean up with a Q-tip soaked in polish remover, but that works better with lighter colors.

Leave a Reply

