Black Cherry Glimmer

I metioned OPI Midnight in Moscow in another post- it’s a blackened red that looks jet-black in most light. While the application is good and the color is nice, I’m tired of those “only I know this isn’t black” shades. So, I did some frankening to get something I liked a little better.

I added some copper (Revlon Bronze Ablaze, which despite the name, is copper) to the Midnight in Moscow(1/3 Bronze Ablze to 2/3 MIM). I don’t buy generally buy Revlon in the drugstore, because their position on animal testing is sketchy, as is Maybelliene and most of the big drugstore brands. I got this at the Just-A-Buck. I suppose I should dodge it altogether, but Revlon’s not getting any money from me if I buy it from a liquidator.

The resulting shade was still pretty dark, but not jet black. I added an old favorite (also found in the dollar store): L’Oreal Jet Set Crushed Opal. Before I saw Nfu-Oh, this was one of the sparklier polishes I’d seen. Like the name implies, it’s flecks of iridescent confetti in a translucent base and looks like opals. I can’t afford Nfu-Oh as the shipping to Japan is really high (and Nfu-Oh is a Korean brand?!) so this will have to do for now.

img_1947

img_1948

It’s dark, but colorful at the same time- not exactly a springy shade, but it is still winter, though all the spring nail polish shades out now have fooled me into forgetting that it’s early February!

img_2138

Here’s the Crushed Opal. I’m going to splurge and buy some Nfu-Oh after it’s gone. I got this L’Oreal at a dollar store in a package of nail polishes, but L’Oreal is not currently  cruelty-free. They’ve waffled over the years on this. I have picked them up at a dollar store since my money’s not going directly to L’Oreal anymore, but I think I’ll stick with those brands I can feel 100% good about supporting.

About nevertoomuchglitter

Nail artist. Wanderer. I'm a color-holic, in fact, it was my love of color that brought me to the nail art world. Well, that, and the fact I was too cheap to pay crazy Japanese prices for nail polish while living in Tokyo, so I had to start mixing my own. That's how NTMG began.
This entry was posted in Darks, Nail polish and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Black Cherry Glimmer

  1. Susi says:

    Lovely! And your application is spot-on perfect! I wish I had your talent! Thanks for the info about the polishes too. I really have to look up the whole animal testing thing. That’s important to me and I should be much more careful about it! Thanks for sharing!

  2. When I first read Crushed Opal I mistook it for Curshed “apple” – lol. I thought what a cool name! Uh, wrong! lol

    That jet set is soooo colorful!

    What’s up with the shipping of the Nfu Oh’s?? Do they not sell them at any of the “nail (nail supply) stores” there?

  3. Nessa says:

    That’s a pretty good replacement for Nfu-Ohs. This is a good website for buying Nfu-Ohs,
    http://fabuloustreet.com/shop/catalog/browse?shop_param=
    They are $8.50 each and shipping is about $4.50, I think, then about a dollar more for each one?
    Check it out.

  4. nevertoomuchglitter says:

    Thanks everyone! The Nfu-Oh is not available in Japan for some reason, as far as I have seen.

    I checked out Fabulous Street and the shipping to Japan is killer as they mainly deal only with the US and Canada. It worked out to be about $18 per bottle. As much as I love Nfu-Oh, I’m not forking over to get it shipped by Fed-Ex to Japan. Maybe I’ll send it to my parent’s house in the US and ask them to send it on.

    Susi: OPI, Color Club and most boutique brands are animal-friendly. I sent an inquiry to China Glaze, and no response yet. Color Club is even vegan-friendly, and their customer representative was super friendly as well. The big drugstore brands (Cover Girl, Maybelliene, Revlon and L’Oreal) are pretty much known bad guys. European brands tend not to test since the EU is phasing out all non-medical animal testing. As much as I love my nails, I don’t want any animals to suffer for it!

  5. nevertoomuchglitter says:

    Brooke- I should have called it Poison Apple or Cursed Cherry or something! Next time! 😉

Leave a Reply

