Art Deco Lavender Speckle

Today, I’m taking a little break from the Valentine’s Day art.

I was looking at some swatches of the new OPI South Beach collection when they first came out, and while I’m not into most of the colors (does the world need another red creme?), I did like the Done Out In Deco, a slightly grayed lavender. I didn’t set out to franken it, but I find that certain things I’ve seen over the course of the day tend to stick out in my mind, and I find myself later creating the colors I’ve seen.

This color is more purple in real life than in the photos. For some reason, photographing purple and blue/purple combinations is really difficult. But, I wasn’t setting out to do a Done Out in Deco franken. Dirty lavender just suddenly appealed, and then I did the franken. I added some funky copper glitter powder to it to give it a speckled texture, like a robin’s egg. I got this at the craft store, but the label rubbed off ages ago. I’ll update the post if I can find the brand and more details. But anyway, here it is.

img_2075

This is 2 drops China Glaze Bermuda Breakaway, a medium blue creme, and two drops of medium creme red. I then added this to a gray creme base (gray like cigarette ash). Finally, I added a half- pea-sized amount of the copper glitter to the mix.

img_2072

But wait! There’s more!

I got a Japanese brand nail polish, oddly named Pa, with confetti stars and glitter in it. It was around $4.50 USΒ  and it’s tiny.Welcome to Tokyo, where things are half the size and twice the price.Β  Then again, a bottle of OPI is literally $25 US here. Ouch!

img_2079

One thing I do have to say for the Pa, it doesn’t smell like xylene chemical death like my Maybelliene confetti heart polish did. In fact, it doesn’t smell like anything at all.Β  Still a little pricey considering the size of the bottle.

img_2081

About nevertoomuchglitter

Nail artist. Wanderer. I'm a color-holic, in fact, it was my love of color that brought me to the nail art world. Well, that, and the fact I was too cheap to pay crazy Japanese prices for nail polish while living in Tokyo, so I had to start mixing my own. That's how NTMG began.
This entry was posted in Gray Base, Nail polish, Purples and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Art Deco Lavender Speckle

  1. Fifrildi says:

    It’s the same prices as here in Norway. For me 4-5$ seem cheap no matter the size, and Essie in the shops here is about 25$.

    I’m going to Japan in April, and a friend of mine there says that she is looking foreward to a visitor who does not think everything is very expencive.

    Can I please ask for some guidance? Brands, places etc to get unique Japanese nail polish? And gradient liquid? I plan to stock up πŸ˜€ (And my Japanese friends is far from a beauty-buff!)

    • nevertoomuchglitter says:

      Hello Fifrildi,
      If you’re coming to Tokyo, you can get a good selection of nail polish pretty cheaply at a store called “Don Quixote,” they sell all kinds of goods including makeup. There are quite a few branches of these stores around Japan and Tokyo. ドン・キホーテ is the name in Japanese, I am sure your friend will know it as it’s pretty famous. You can also get gradation liquid, nail decals, etc. there. as well as some odd Japan-only cosmetics.

      Popular brands here are Pa, which has tiny bottles and a lot of different colors, but only so-so formula, Majolca Majolca, a little expensive but unique colors, Shiseido, an expensive Japanese brand but still cheaper than OPI or international brands. There are a lot of department stores with Shu Uemura brand ($20 US or so per bottle), Anna Sui, etc. but I guess the same prices as Norway.

      Drugstores also have an OK selection of polishes, some better than others. I recommend Don Quixote the most. Also, you can get some interesting polishes at a Japanese 100-yen shop, where everything is about $1 US. My favorite 100 yen shop is called The Daiso (アーダむソ 百円ショップ). I get a lot of my jewels and glitter there.

      I hope you have a great time in Japan and this helps a little bit!

  2. Delirium~ says:

    Thank you so much! That helped a lot πŸ˜€

  3. Oh, I would go crazy if I was there shopping! All of my stuff would consist of nail polish related stuff. Those TiNS nail polishes I would DIE to get my hands on! I want those so badly it hurts sometimes – but just a little πŸ™‚

  4. Whoops, forgot to comment on your lovely nail art! d’oh! I think Robins Egg is a perfect description of this. I like the addition of the PA. I have seen a website that sells PA, but I wasn’t aware that they were such small bottles πŸ™‚

  5. nevertoomuchglitter says:

    Brooke- if there’s anything you’re ever really, really dying for, let me know and I’ll be happy to send it to ya. I’m sure we can work out a trade. πŸ˜‰

    I checked out those TiNS and I can’t believe what people are selling them for! I think they’re about $10 here or so.

  6. Lucy says:

    Love all your franken colors. You have a great eye for color. Love that glitter.

Leave a Reply

