Neon Ribbon

Sometimes I make a color which doesn’t necessarily look fabulous with my skin tone, but this one would look great on gals with darker skin than mine. It’s a neon-based creamy orange which I think would make  good summer pedicure.

img_1902

I made a light yellow with a creme yellow (a close match would probably be OPI Need Sunglasses?) and a few drops of creme white to make a light yellow (like the inside of a banana). I added a couple drops of Color Club Screamin’ Fuscia,which is a traffic-stoppin’  fuscia, as the name implies. I added a pinch of  some pearly white shimmer pigment which had been sitting around in my makeup bag. I bought it because it was shiny, and then I realized I never actually wear that kind of borderline drag-queen makeup. But I’m insanely attracted to it nonetheless. But the little bit of shimmer did add some creamy quality to the polish.

You can add powder eyeshadow, highlighter, etc. anything to your frankens. Just be aware that it may thicken the polish and start with a tiny bit, and mix, mix, mix. Also, it has to be very fine. If it’s chunky, put it in a baggie and mash it with a rolling pin until it’s like a fine dust. But this pigment was already superfine, so I just dumped in an amount about half the size of a pea.

I used the Konad ribbon pattern to jazz things up a bit. I stamped on the red first, and then the yellow I stamped in the opposite direction, stamping randomly. I definitely had to clean my cuticles after this one!

img_1910

Not my favorite color, but a little bit of brightness for a gray winter day.

About nevertoomuchglitter

Nail artist. Wanderer. I'm a color-holic, in fact, it was my love of color that brought me to the nail art world. Well, that, and the fact I was too cheap to pay crazy Japanese prices for nail polish while living in Tokyo, so I had to start mixing my own. That's how NTMG began.
This entry was posted in Brights, Nail polish, NTMG Original Nail Art, Oranges and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Neon Ribbon

  1. Susi says:

    I love the ribbons…. thanks for sharing! It is even cold here in Florida today!

  2. nevertoomuchglitter says:

    Oh, Florida! That sounds nice, but I saw on the news that it’s been cold there. It’s pretty warm in Tokyo (40s-50) in winter, but still dreary.

  3. I think it would make a great gradient color!

  4. Jasmine says:

    Wow beautiful colors!

Leave a Reply

