Mermaid Green

I’m really looking forward to spring and wanted to make a hopeful, springy color. Flowery pastel shades are nice, but I wanted green, the ultimate spring color. This is glittertastic and reminds me of a mermaid’s tail.  I might even wear it for two days!

img_1915

This color will require a very old hard-to-find, but you can make it yourself with a little patience. The base needs to be as transparent as possible.

First, a neon yellow is needed. I used China Glaze Celtic Sun, because it’s more transparent than Color Club or some of the other neon yellows on the market. If you don’t have the  CG but you have another neon yellow, add 2/3 yellow to 1/3 clear polish (not quick dry!)

I made a mix of 1/3 CG Celtic Sun to 2/3 Maybelliene Blue Water, a totally transparent medium blue. Maybelliene did these transparent shades a while back (OK, probably a decade ago) but they were so transparent that they were almost unuseable. It takes about 8 coats to get color on the nail, and with only a few coats, it looks like your nails are stained or diseased.  Hence, this one is hard to find as it went to that Great Nail Polish Bin In The Sky. I got mine at a dollar store.

All that history aside, if you don’t have Blue Water, you’ve got to add ONE drop of blue creme  to about 10 drops of clear polish to get a very watery blue, then add this blue to the CG yellow or your yellow mix. This polish will be quite watery, which is good, since lots of glitter will be dumped in.

I added some green iridescent glitter with yellow flash to the base and mixed it in. There’s nothing special about the glitter, it’s just fine craft glitter- not too chunky. But- this glitter doesn’t immediately turn silver and lose the color as soon as it hits the nail polish. A lot of glitter will get bleached like that. I have some nice, expensive glitters that turn silver immediately. This was cheapo glitter, 8 packets for a dollar. Experiment with your glitter- add a little pile to a drop of clear polish and see what happens. If you are lucky, your glitter will not change color. If it does, try another brand of polish or glitter.

img_1937

OPI Dazzle Me, China Glaze Celtic Sun, Maybelliene Blue Water, and the yellow glitter I used.

After adding the glitter (joy!), I added some OPI Dazzle Me (translucent light blue with silver shimmer) to the mix. It took three coats to be opaque, but the color has a lot of depth and shine.

img_1916

About nevertoomuchglitter

Nail artist. Wanderer. I'm a color-holic, in fact, it was my love of color that brought me to the nail art world. Well, that, and the fact I was too cheap to pay crazy Japanese prices for nail polish while living in Tokyo, so I had to start mixing my own. That's how NTMG began.
This entry was posted in Greens, Nail polish and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Mermaid Green

  1. ooooooooohhhhhhhh pretty pretty! Love all the glitter! I also liked the addition of the picture showing what you used!

  2. nevertoomuchglitter says:

    Thanks! 🙂

Leave a Reply

