Shimmering Earth

Today’s color is one that I didn’t expect to like, but I do. It’s a medium neutral gray-based brown with silver microglitter. It reminds me of soil with dew on it.

img_1880

img_1877

This brown was made by mixing two opposite colors on the color wheel- in this case, purple and yellow. The purple was bluish (cool) and the yellow was mixed with a gray base to tone down the color. I didn’t want a bright, vibrant brown, but rather a dusty, faded brown.

Purple: I used a medium creme blue and added a few drops of red to make a dark purple, sort of like Grimace from McDonalds, or old-fashioned licorice gumdrops  (no, they are not actually black!) I made the yellow seperately with OPI The It Color, a mustardy bright yellow, white creme, and one drop of black. It looked like the refrigerator someone in my family had ages ago- a sort of sickly mustard.  Then I mixed that with the purple to get the brown base. Finally, I dumped in some clear polish with silver shimmer (like OPI Dazzle Me, but in a clear base- sorry for the lack of names, but these were all from the dollar store!) That gave me the shimmer I wanted for a fairy-tale color rather than a modern creme brown.

You can make brown with any two opposites on the color wheel (red + green, orange + blue) but red-based browns and rusts can be hard to pull off.  A lot of folks shy away from brown, but it can be very sophisticated, particularly if gray is mixed in.

About nevertoomuchglitter

Nail artist. Wanderer. I'm a color-holic, in fact, it was my love of color that brought me to the nail art world. Well, that, and the fact I was too cheap to pay crazy Japanese prices for nail polish while living in Tokyo, so I had to start mixing my own. That's how NTMG began.
This entry was posted in Gray Base, Nail polish and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Shimmering Earth

  1. Susi says:

    great color! looks wonderful on you! thanks for sharing!

  2. Nessa says:

    Interesting color. I’d buy it!

Leave a Reply

