Rose Swirl

These nails were made with a simple swirling technique. The secret is a cold room. Believe it or not, houses in Japan don’t have central heating.  Yes, it’s true. A lot of people get combination heater/AC units, but these are expensive to run. So in Japan, we wear lots of layers and freeze until March. But this cold house led to some fun nails.

img_1858

This swirl technique is easy. Pour a little dark polish (red, in this case) in a muffin cup or some disposable container. I used a small puddle the size of a penny, or a button on a pair of pants. Then pour in a contrasting color (white) in the middle of this. Dip a polish brush in the white/red without mixing. Lay the brush flat on the nail and drag the color on- first down the center of the nail, then lay in the polish again and do the sides. If you wiggle the brush, you’ll get wavy stripes. If the room or your hands are too warm, the colors will mix together on the nail, so for those of you in tropical climates might have to paint this design on tips, which won’t be affected by body heat. I will try to make a tutorial for this if anyone is interested, as it’s a little hard to explain- but not hard to do!

For this one, I added some red and hot pink glitter but wasn’t crazy about it. But it was still missing something! Konad time!

I wanted something a little Valentines-y, so I added white roses. My homemade Konad polish is still a work in progress, but I don’t think the end result is too bad:

img_1867

img_1869

I wanted a sort of old-world shabby-chic kind of stained glass look. I hope you like it and I’ll do a swirly tutorial if anyone is interested.

About nevertoomuchglitter

Nail artist. Wanderer. I'm a color-holic, in fact, it was my love of color that brought me to the nail art world. Well, that, and the fact I was too cheap to pay crazy Japanese prices for nail polish while living in Tokyo, so I had to start mixing my own. That's how NTMG began.
This entry was posted in Konad, Nail polish, NTMG Original Nail Art, Pinks and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Rose Swirl

  1. Nessa says:

    Very pretty!! Loves it! A tutorial would be awesome!

  2. Stained glass is a perfect description for this! I think the rose konad was the perfect touch this nail needed to really set it off.

  3. Jamie says:

    Oh my. I *love* those nails! They really do have an “old world” feel to them, just gorgeous!

  4. Lina-Elvira says:

    That’s really lovely 😀 I am going to give this a shot, houses in Britain are pretty cold to so it should be ok! 🙂

  5. amber says:

    oooh that is BEAUTIFUL! j’adore.

  6. nevertoomuchglitter says:

    Thanks everyone! I will be doing the tutorial this weekend so check back soon! 🙂

Leave a Reply

