Bowl of Stars

I saw the starriest sky of my life in New Zealand. I couldn’t believe how many stars were overhead- it was really a special moment. Here in the big city, you’re lucky to see any stars at all. I wanted to make a color that reminded me of that sky.

This color is a deep blue with holo glitter. There are some deep blues with holo glitter on the market- OPI DS Fantasy and I’m sure there are others. But the blue base is a not a navy- it’s a midnight inky color, Orly Star of Bombay. I like this color a lot, straight or for mixing. It’s an unusual deep blue without red undertones. It actually reminds me of old bowling balls, the deep blue ones with random white marbling running through them. (Hmm, sounds like a good nail project…)

img_1267

So, it’s just 2/3 Orly Star of Bombay mixed in with 1/3 China Glaze Kalideoscope Him Out, a celadon green holo glitter. You could also try half and half- a little holo glitter goes a long way, though. I even liked this color enough not to Konad it!

img_12682

img_1273

About nevertoomuchglitter

Nail artist. Wanderer. I'm a color-holic, in fact, it was my love of color that brought me to the nail art world. Well, that, and the fact I was too cheap to pay crazy Japanese prices for nail polish while living in Tokyo, so I had to start mixing my own. That's how NTMG began.
This entry was posted in Blues, Darks, Nail polish and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Bowl of Stars

  1. ooohhhh! This is one of my favorites that you have ever done! What a great color, it has so much depth. Good work.

  2. nevertoomuchglitter says:

    Thanks, Brooke. I really think Orly Star of Bombay is worth owning, it’s such a unique dark blue. I’ll be doing some more frankens with this as the base.

  3. Atomica says:

    That is soooooooooooo beautiful! Lovely colour! 🙂

  4. arkanefyre says:

    That might even be more gorgeous that Essie’s Starry Starry Night! <333

    • nevertoomuchglitter says:

      Thanks! I have seen photos of SSN, but never owned a bottle. I’m glad you like it- my franken is really simple but satisfied my craving for a sparkly blue.

  5. Pingback: Essie Starry Starry Night « Nevertoomuchglitter’s Weblog

Leave a Reply

