Dusty Coral

I like coral because it has a fun, 50s vintage sort of vibe. But it’s hard to find the right color to suit my ghostly white hands. If it’s too orangey, it clashes, but if it’s too red, then it’s not coral anymore.

I found that coral with a slightly gray base is flattering for me and a little different- not like a “mom” color at all. It’s coral but also kind of modern. I’m crazy about gray-based colors, as you can probably tell from reading this blog.

img_1718

See? It’s a little dusty because of the gray base- it’s not vibrant but rather more muted and almost creamy, but not pastel.

I made the orange first out of Misa Happy Happy, a medium creme yellow, and creme red (dolla-store special). But then I added a couple drops of China Glaze Rose Among Thorns, a weird muted/grayed pink. This gave me the undertone I was looking for. To the orangey base, I added some light gray mixed from creme white and creme black (2/3 orange base to 1/3 gray). More gray in the mix would have yielded a creamy faded orangey color. I tried that too, but I didn’t like the final result as much because it was a little too light. To me, this coral says, “Summer is on the way!”

It’s a beautiful Sunday, and I can get crazy with the nails, so  I busted out the Konad and jewels.

img_1726

I chose the sort of Mod pattern with the circles and squares, but my homemade Konad yellow didn’t turn out great.  I’m still working on a good homemade Konad Special Polish substitute. So for, what I’ve made has been very messy because it requires a lot of pigment.

About nevertoomuchglitter

Nail artist. Wanderer. I'm a color-holic, in fact, it was my love of color that brought me to the nail art world. Well, that, and the fact I was too cheap to pay crazy Japanese prices for nail polish while living in Tokyo, so I had to start mixing my own. That's how NTMG began.
This entry was posted in Brights, Gray Base, Konad, NTMG Original Nail Art, Oranges and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Dusty Coral

  1. Susi says:

    Love it! Great coral – spring is on the way! And the Mod thing – for a child of the 60’s – love it!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Thanks for sharing!

  2. Amber says:

    what a stunning color! Did you make this one?

  3. nevertoomuchglitter says:

    Susi- Glad you liked it. I’m really into the vintage look and keep an eye out for some more nails inspired by times gone by!

    Amber- I do make all the colors featured on this blog, except if I mention otherwise, but most 99% of them are colors mixed by me. Give it a try sometime- amazing colors can be made with a little experimentation!

  4. very shagadelic baby! I just watched Austin Powers The Spy Who Shagged Me, this weekend. This totaly looks like it should have been a manicure for that movie!

  5. nevertoomuchglitter says:

    Brooke- LOL! I actually didn’t see the movie, but I should have called this “Shagadelic Coral.” 🙂

Leave a Reply

