Midnight Fireworks in Moscow

I wore OPI Midnight in Moscow today, which was described as “charcoal with a hint of maroon glimmer,” which just means black with a teeny bit of maroon, visible only under incredibly direct light. Don’t get me wrong, I love dark nail polish in general, but I’m getting a little weary of the shades that look black in most light.

img_1785

So I bet you can guess what comes next!

I made a glittery topcoat with Sally Hansen Nail Prisms in Golden Tourmaline, which is a discontinued shade. My bottle, picked up at a dollar store, is a pinky carmine red holo. Why the heck is it called Golden Tourmaline? Did the color fade out to a weird pink? Anyway, I added some of the GT to some black creme with some fine green glitter and chunky silver holo sparkle, and then it was Fireworks in Moscow. This would probably blaze during the day in full sun, but alas, I have only the flourescent light in the kitchen. But trust me, it was sparkly.

img_1808

Golden Tourmaline?!

img_1796

For this one, make sure your glittery top is fairly translucent, otherwise the base color won’t show through as well. I’m probably going to franken with the rest of the Midnight in Moscow, since I won’t be wearing it that much and I prefer Sinful Colors Rich in Heart for vampy, blackened reds.

About nevertoomuchglitter

Nail artist. Wanderer. I'm a color-holic, in fact, it was my love of color that brought me to the nail art world. Well, that, and the fact I was too cheap to pay crazy Japanese prices for nail polish while living in Tokyo, so I had to start mixing my own. That's how NTMG began.
This entry was posted in Darks, Nail polish and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Midnight Fireworks in Moscow

  1. Where did you get that Sally Hansen Nail Prisms? I have been seeing these on different blogs, but I haven’t seen it any where?

    I love those chunky glitter peices!

  2. Amber says:

    I really want your slug color. I’ve been thinking about it…mentally swatching it to clothing…visualizing it on my nails…
    Sigh.

    Um, I too am tiring of “black unless under bight lights, and wet” colors..
    Like OPI’s Light My Saffire and Eiffel For This Color…

  3. nevertoomuchglitter says:

    The SH Nail Prisms have been discontinued for a long time. They were unique- holo and duochrome long before other drugstore brands were doing it, but hard to use properly, and I think that they sold poorly because of the tricky application. I got mine at a liquidator called Christmas Tree Shops in CT, but maybe you could find them at Big Lots or Just-A-Buck or wherever nail polishes go to die in your area. They have gold tops and a flat bottle.

  4. nevertoomuchglitter says:

    Amber- Do the Slug! It’s pretty easy, and also awesomely revolting. Just go easy on the brown or you’ll get taupe quickly. I was dying to paint antennae and add a wiggly eye to my Slug manicure, but I figured that was just a little too disgusting. I guess there’s a reason that a color like Slug isn’t around on the commercial market, but it’s funky.

  5. nailpolish12 says:

    that is so fun! i agree, black-ish shades are getting a little old. keep up the good work!

    check out my nailpolish blog!

Leave a Reply

