Perfect Periwinkle

Periwinkle is one of my favorite colors- a blue with just the tiniest hint of purple. There are hardly any good periwinkles on the market- China Glaze has a color called Agent Periwinkle, which is more of a blue.

Here’s Agent Periwinkle. Nice, but too light and not really purplish enough for my liking. But still a nice color and good application.

img_1200

So, of course, out came the franken tools! This didn’t photograph well- I’m guessing it had something to do with the neon base bouncing the light back. It’s slightly more purple in real life, but here goes:

img_1582img_1299img_1369

Above is the closest representation of my polish color, though for some reason my hand looks really red.

img_1569

This was Color Club 220V, a neon blue creme, and a couple drops of white. Just a couple to make it a little more opaque, and then add some creme red to the lightened blue. Do not add too much red, or you will go into purple territory.

The color of this is best described as the Exxon Mobil Blue. In the US back in the late 80s? early 90s? Exxon had thes lit-up signs over the gas pumps with the Pegasus logo. The background of that sign was the exact purple-blue of this franken.

About nevertoomuchglitter

Nail artist. Wanderer. I'm a color-holic, in fact, it was my love of color that brought me to the nail art world. Well, that, and the fact I was too cheap to pay crazy Japanese prices for nail polish while living in Tokyo, so I had to start mixing my own. That's how NTMG began.
This entry was posted in Blues, Nail polish, Pastel and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

