In Search of Green

I’m really getting into greens these days, especially for the weekends. I think I’m just longing for spring, but green in all its wonderful shades has been catching my eye. Here’s two greens for tonight’s post. While these are OK, it’s not satisfying my green urge. Compounding the problem is that the light in my apartment is pretty bad for photography. Tomorrow (Saturday) might be sunny, so I’ll try and get some good pictures.

img_1500

This reminds me of Japanese beetles. It’s a deep greenish purple with green flash (OPI Fireflies.) I mixed red creme and medium blue creme to get a deep neutral purple. In a seperate container, I used the same medium blue and some creme yellow to make green. I then mixed the green and purple together and added a few drops of OPI Fireflies to the base. I’m sorry I don’t have the names of the polishes as they were dollar-store specials.  Sadly, this one did not photograph well under my crummy lights. But it was a fun color- is it purple? green? Not exactly a duochome but it had nice depth.

img_1521

As a kid, I watched the old, old Scooby-Doo, and the color above was inspired by the ghost of Mr. Hyde character. I was also haunted by the Green Phantom on the show- for some reason it was terrifying at the time, though it was just the butler in a sheet, trying to implement some shady plan involving jewels. I think that scary Scooby Doo villan green has been bouncing around in my subconcious ever since. This franken  is just blue creme, a couple drops of yellow, and some white. Just like Mr. Hyde.

hyde

I’m scared! So I added glitter:

img_1534

One thin coat of China Glaze He’s Going in Circles, a green holo. This would be opaque in two or three think coats, but I wanted to let the ghostly green show through a little bit.

img_1544

Meanwhile, the quest for the perfect green continues.

About nevertoomuchglitter

Nail artist. Wanderer. I'm a color-holic, in fact, it was my love of color that brought me to the nail art world. Well, that, and the fact I was too cheap to pay crazy Japanese prices for nail polish while living in Tokyo, so I had to start mixing my own. That's how NTMG began.
This entry was posted in Greens, Nail polish and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to In Search of Green

  1. Too bad the first one didn’t copperate for pictures, I bet it looked cool.

    My son loves scooby doo! We have countless dvd’s with scooby doo episodes.

    I really like the glitter top coat, it made it really pretty!

  2. nevertoomuchglitter says:

    Haha, I hope he’s not scarred by the corny bad guys on SD. I guess kids today see way more scary stuff than I did back in my childhood. Have you noticed that the bad guys on the show were generally some shade of green?

    And at least as a mom, watching SD is probably better than Barnie or the Teletubbies or something. Your son has good taste!

Leave a Reply

