Dragon Jewel

Today I started out with Sinful Colors What’s Your Name, which is purple, green and dark blue microglitter in a black base. The glitter is extremely hard to see, except in full sun. It reminds me of raven feathers- black with a slight iridescent sheen. For $1.99, I feel like it was a good purchase.

The photograph doesn’t show the sparkles well, but it’s nighttime here.

img_1478

From there, I added a coat of Orly’s It’s Up To Blue, a teal/green shimmer that reminds me of peacock feathers. It’s a great color, but sadly, the coverage is not good and the color is just too sheer. But with a dark coat underneath, it absolutely glows. It would be fine over any dark blue or black, I just had the What’s Your Name? handy.

img_14881

It reminds me of dragon scales.

But wait! There’s more!

I got some Konad plates yesterday.

img_1497

After Konading the swirl design with plate M51, I applied a layer of Sinful Colors Pearl Harbor over the green. It’s a green/blue glitter in a clear base. Be gentle with the topcoat because that Konad polish smudges like crazy.  It’s best to sort of pat it on and don’t re-brush. I’m currently trying to franken the Konad polishes. I had OK results, but too messy to recommend a good formula to anyone else yet.

I did smudge in a couple places, so I chose some cheery rhinestones to complement the design. I wanted something spring-like and fun to set off the glowing teal.

I’m still pretty new at Konad, but I found the key is picking up the polish fast after you scrape it off. And make sure your cotton pads and remover are close at hand.

About nevertoomuchglitter

Nail artist. Wanderer. I'm a color-holic, in fact, it was my love of color that brought me to the nail art world. Well, that, and the fact I was too cheap to pay crazy Japanese prices for nail polish while living in Tokyo, so I had to start mixing my own. That's how NTMG began.
This entry was posted in Blues, Konad, Nail polish, NTMG Original Nail Art and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Dragon Jewel

  1. SusiQ says:

    pretty pretty! I love your formulas! thanks for sharing!

  2. what do you think about trying acrylic paint for the konads? I don’t have a konad, but I have wondered how this might work.

  3. nevertoomuchglitter says:

    Brooke- it might work, but you need the acrylic in a plastic bottle rather than in a tube because that will be too thick. I will definitely do some experimenting. The thing is, you would need to clean the Konad plates and stamp and scraper really, really well, because acrylic could get stuck permanently in the nooks and crannies. Once it’s dry, it’s hard to remove. I was using artist’s pigment, basically powdered paint, and getting fairly good results, but it is so messy. I hope to get the formula right and post it so we don’t have to pay $7 for that Konad polish!

    SusiQ- Glad you liked it. It’s always my pleasure to share nail fun!

Leave a Reply

