Pink Harlequin

Today, I was trying to be subtle, so I went with a grayed-out pink with some slight silver glitter.

img_1454

img_1457

This is one drop of creme red (like Essie Jelly Apple, but dollar-store brand) added to a light gray base with silver microglitter. Not a bad color, but a little boring. After work, I got a little more creative. img_14611

I painted creme white stripes of differing widths across the nail, and then added some almond-shaped plastic jewels randomly. After that, I used a dotting tool dipped in creme black to make some black dots on the white stripes. Quick and easy. It reminds me of a masquerade ball or court jester. The plastic jewels were dirt cheap and they come in a lot of different colors. I often use real Swavorski crystals on special designs and recycle them for later use, but I think these black plastic ones were perfectly suitable for something fun and different.

img_1471

About nevertoomuchglitter

Nail artist. Wanderer. I'm a color-holic, in fact, it was my love of color that brought me to the nail art world. Well, that, and the fact I was too cheap to pay crazy Japanese prices for nail polish while living in Tokyo, so I had to start mixing my own. That's how NTMG began.
This entry was posted in Gray Base, Nail polish, NTMG Original Nail Art, Pastel, Pinks and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Pink Harlequin

  1. How do you recycle your crystals? I have wondered about doing that to mine too! It is such a waste to throw them away. Love the color and the designs. Pink is one of my favorite colors.

  2. Jamie says:

    Wow – I love those! šŸ™‚

  3. Lucy says:

    Pretty! Looks just like a mani for a masquerade ball. I can just see it worn in Venice at their famous balls.

  4. nevertoomuchglitter says:

    Brooke- The secret to re-using the crystals is not to destroy the foil backing- that’s what makes them reflective and shiny. You can carefully use a razor blade to pop them off it the crystals are on the free edge of the nail- always slide the razor away from your body! You can also put acetone nail polish remover on a Q-Tip and work it around the base of the crystal and then gently wiggle it loose when the glue/polish loosens up. Then rinse the crystal quickly in water and lay on a towel to dry.

    Jamie and Lucy- Glad you liked it! I may try this design later in really bright jewel tones for a Mardi Gras design, so stay tuned! šŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

