Banana Creme

I was going to call this one Hardboiled, because the color is just a wee bit closer to a hardboiled egg yolk, but I then I wanted to draw black dots on it like an actual banana…but anyway.

Make a little puddle of white creme, with one drop of black. This will make a pale gray. Too much black and your final color will be dirty snot green rather than pale yellow. Then, add in a creme yellow drop by drop (I used Misa Happy Happy, but any creme yellow will do) into the extremely light gray base. With just yellow and white, you’ll get a cleaner, creamy butter yellow, but I didn’t like that as much.

Yellow is a hard one to pull off, but there’s something fun about it. It’s really noticeable, but it’s definitely different. This took two coats to be opaque, but it was fairly thick.

img_1283

img_12811

These were begging for some abstract art. I tried my Sally Hansen nail art pen, with only so-so results. I found the ink sort of beaded on the surface of the nail, even though I followed instructions. But I was just doodling anyway.

img_1287

About nevertoomuchglitter

Nail artist. Wanderer. I'm a color-holic, in fact, it was my love of color that brought me to the nail art world. Well, that, and the fact I was too cheap to pay crazy Japanese prices for nail polish while living in Tokyo, so I had to start mixing my own. That's how NTMG began.
This entry was posted in Gray Base, Pastel, Yellows and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Banana Creme

  1. I think it looks cool, kind of like a tie-died effect.

  2. XxSparklesxX says:

    That is so pretty

Leave a Reply

