Faded ’57 Chevy Green

I like my nail polish to come in unexpected colors. Of course, sometimes I just want a straight red, but I’m more likely to franken a “strange” color.

Rescue Beauty Lounge is a brand that offers some really funky shades, but at $18 a bottle, I probably won’t be buying too many of those, especially as my franken skills develop. I saw the gorgeous RBL Bikini Bottom online, though, and it’s been rattling around in my brain for a while as a good franken project. Bikini Bottom is more jelly than my franken below, but I wasn’t aiming for an exact dupe of BB,  just in the same color family.

Pls excuse the polish stains on my hands- I was trying out some reds, and my tips and fingers got stained.

I wanted a dusty ’50s vintage green, innocent, but modern at the same time.

img_1169

To make shades in  this color family, you will need to mix two colors seperately and then combine.

The base: A postage-stamp sized glob of white, and ONE drop of black. Just one. You want an extremely light gray to give that slightly dusty, faded look.

Into our big puddle of light gray, we will add a tiny bit of color.

Then, quickly mix a three drops of medium creme blue and one drop of creme yellow. Scoop it up and add to the light gray, mix together and there it is! I used dollar store blue and yellow. For the blue, you could try Misa’s Pour Me Something Tall and Strong or China Glaze Bermuda Breakaway. For the yellow, maybe Misa Happy Happy or OPI Need Sunglasses?

This color is somewhat similar to China Glaze For Audrey but is a little dustier. For Audrey is a clean, brighter blue. But for those of you who don’t own For Audrey, this is a nice alternative. For an edgier look, you could make your base color a little darker gray. The resulting color will be more muted. Go carefully with the black, though.

I liked this color but I wanted more sparkles. Suprise, surprise. A coat of OPI’s Dazzle Me gave me the sparkly finish I wanted. Sorry for the pics, the weather is not cooperating here. A nice spring color which I might be able to wear to work.

img_1184

img_1189

About nevertoomuchglitter

Nail artist. Wanderer. I'm a color-holic, in fact, it was my love of color that brought me to the nail art world. Well, that, and the fact I was too cheap to pay crazy Japanese prices for nail polish while living in Tokyo, so I had to start mixing my own. That's how NTMG began.
This entry was posted in Blues, Nail polish and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

