Smooth Claret with Carcinogenic Hearts

I couldn’t do sheers anymore. I had to stick with the standard colors this week because the big boss was around, but I was going crazy. I had to do a burgundy, which, for some reason, is an OK office color. I still can’t figure out why burgundy/wines are OK but dark blue isn’t. From Monday, no more polite pastels!

This easy franken is made of Orly Quintessential Crimson, a gorgeous shimmery red and a few drops of creme black. The Orly QC is beautiful, but something about it is very Christmas-like. At least on my skin tone, anyway. But any medium red will do. Red + black= vampy goodness!

Just add a few drops of creme black to red until you go as dark as you want.

img_1149

img_1141

I know this color is widely available in a lot of different collections, but I thought I’d offer this one for you gals who might be saving money or on a no-buy resolution.

But I wanted to add a little something  to this, so I dug out one of the new polishes I picked up at the discount store in the USA. It’s Maybelline Wet Shine Diamonds in Red Hot Hearts. I don’t generally buy Maybelline because they have some sketchy animal testing. But once it hits the dollar store, it’s fair game. Maybelline isn’t getting any money from it once the stock has gone to a liquidator like Just-A-Buck.

It’s a clear polish with pink confetti hearts. Cute, right?

img_1153

I opened this up and nearly passed out. I recognized the stink right away- xylene. Yes, indeed, first ingredient: xylene.

img_1157

I used xylene to clean silkscreens back in my printmaking days. It EATS through rubber gloves. Yes, really, no exaggeration. It is a nasty chemical and needs a permit to be dumped. How did Maybelline get away with using it as a nail polish base?! Or, perhaps that’s why the nail polish wound up in the dollar store.

From experience, I know that foil or plastic confetti will lose its color when it hits regular clear nail polish. Something in the polish removes the color. I guess xylene won’t do this. But yikes! My throat started to hurt after painting five nails with this stuff…..think I’ll pass on it. Plus it was thick and glunky, just to add insult to (lung) injury.

If you have polish where xylene is the first ingredient, crack two windows open when you’re polishing. I know nail polish generally has some nasty ingredients, but xylene is a harsh industrial solvent and I don’t think it should be used routinely. None of my other polishes have it. Boo Maybelline!

If you want confetti on your nails, apply it with nail glue and seal with a water-based acrylic sealant (you can get it at any craft store). It won’t be the sturdiest design, but you won’t have to huff xylene to get your confetti look.

About nevertoomuchglitter

Nail artist. Wanderer. I'm a color-holic, in fact, it was my love of color that brought me to the nail art world. Well, that, and the fact I was too cheap to pay crazy Japanese prices for nail polish while living in Tokyo, so I had to start mixing my own. That's how NTMG began.
This entry was posted in Darks, Nail polish and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Smooth Claret with Carcinogenic Hearts

  1. Nixxy says:

    That’s incredibly beautiful! I’m off to create some vampies!

  2. Good thing I don’t usually buy maybelline! I do have a couple though, I will have to check mine out at home.

    I love the franken color you did. It looks like it just GLOWS !

  3. I have a request for your franken genius………I just recently saw a picture of a discontinued China Glaze color, and I am in LOVE! It is called Dorothy Who? It is a blue glitter color. I saw it on the nailphile. Here is the link to the pictures:
    http://thenailphile.blogspot.com/2009/01/dorothy-who.html

    Please tell me you can do this……

  4. nevertoomuchglitter says:

    Brooke- You will probably know if the polish has xylene- the stench could knock over an elephant. It’s like getting a snootful of gasoline.

    As for the Dorothy Who?, I saw that too! What a sweet color! I betcha I can do this one if I can find the right blue glitter….one Dorothy Who? coming up!

  5. nevertoomuchglitter says:

    Nixxy- glad you liked it! Just pour out some red and drop in the black bit by bit until you get something vampalicious!

  6. Nixxy says:

    ooh! I second the vote for a “Dorothy Who?” franken!

  7. nevertoomuchglitter says:

    Well, today your franken wishes come true! I just did the franken- it’s hot of the press. Hope you like it!

  8. Renee says:

    I have the same color, but mine is in the newer Express Finish bottle and doesn’t contain Xylene at all. It’s not as red as yours is, but they did re-do the color. Great look!

    • nevertoomuchglitter says:

      Phew! Good thing, because the original could knock you off your feet with the chemical blast. Those confetti polishes are a lot of fun. 🙂

Leave a Reply

