Robin’s Egg Blue

I cannot find my good nail polish remover and had to get the crummy stuff from the dollar store, and I picked up some rather sub-standard cotton squares that left more cotton on my nail than I thought possible. These are pretty crappy pictures, combined with the fact that I worked from 8am-8pm with an hour commute each way.

Excuses aside, I like this color a lot and will be frankening it again when I have more time, sunlight and patience.  I will have to take it off straightaway because I definitely cannot wear this one to work at the moment:

img_1104

img_1109

It’s a kind of jelly turquiose which is slightly greener in real life. I wish I could have captured this in sunlight, but I will another day.

It’s 2/3 Misa “Pour Me Something Tall and Strong,” a neon creme blue which is fairly translucent,  mixed with 1/3 Misa Happy Happy, a creme yellow, and a few drops of China Glaze Whiteout, a white creme. This is my first time to franken with Misa, and it’s not a bad polish, but darn, it’s translucent. That translucent quality was great for this franken, but I could see it getting annoying if it takes a lot of coats to get bottle color.

I came up with a color similar to Rescue Beauty Lounge Bikini Bottom, but then I added too much white. But I do like this cheery blue and will show you my version of that nice jelly blue/green of Bikini Bottom in another post, another day.

I went a little crazy and decided to make another color from this robin’s egg blue, since I had some left on my pallete. I added gray creme, mixed from black and white, and then a touch of silver shimmer. It’s a nice soft gray with a slight shimmer. It reminds me of pussy willows. This is a color I’d wear maybe once a year, but wouldn’t want to have a whole bottle of.

img_1135

Oh, and I’m absolutely not forgetting my handcreme tonight. My hands are so dry!

About nevertoomuchglitter

Nail artist. Wanderer. I'm a color-holic, in fact, it was my love of color that brought me to the nail art world. Well, that, and the fact I was too cheap to pay crazy Japanese prices for nail polish while living in Tokyo, so I had to start mixing my own. That's how NTMG began.
This entry was posted in Blues, Pastel and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Robin’s Egg Blue

  1. You amaze me, if I worked the hours you just described, nail polish would be the last thing on my mind. I love the bright blue color 🙂 I would for sure wear that on my toes

  2. nevertoomuchglitter says:

    Yeah, the Japanese love working late! I work for a foreign company here in Tokyo, but in a Japanese company, everyone stays until the boss leaves, even if they don’t actually need to.

    But usually I’m just working 8 to 5 with an hour commute each way by subway. Me and my guy can ride the subway together in the morning, so that’s pretty nice. I did both those frankens in about 15 minutes. I took the photos while they were still wet and then just flopped into bed.

Leave a Reply

