Sparkling Sand

The big boss is in town for the week, so no crazy nail colors for a while. This is a shimmery sandy color with a dusting of holo glitter (China Glaze Golden Enchantment, the gold sister to Fairy Dust.

img_1095

img_1094

I added one rose sticker to the pinkie to make up for having to wear such a neutral color.

But what surprised me about this is that it’s made from Orly Rio Nights, a creme purple, and Orly Hookup, a creme yellow with silver microshimmer. I expected to get a medium tone brown, but I got a sandy beige.

img_1099

I mixed these about half-and-half and came up with the beige above…different from what I thought I’d get for sure.

I’ll be wearing these as I think they’re not going to raise any eyebrows. After this week is finished, I’m going to do something extra fun for my nails to make up for the fact they had to hide under nude polishes all week. After this week, they deserve a flourescent Konad with rhinestones on top!

But for you gals who need a little bit more conservative color for the office, this sandy beige is a not a bad choice and is easily frankened from other, more fun colors. Just think of it as purple and yellow going incognito. It’s not terribly exciting, but if you don’t want to buy a bottle of shimmering sand color nail polish, this franken is the way to go!

About nevertoomuchglitter

Nail artist. Wanderer. I'm a color-holic, in fact, it was my love of color that brought me to the nail art world. Well, that, and the fact I was too cheap to pay crazy Japanese prices for nail polish while living in Tokyo, so I had to start mixing my own. That's how NTMG began.
This entry was posted in Pastel and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Sparkling Sand

  1. WOW, I never would have thought that sandy color would have come from those two bright colors 🙂 I’m so glad I don’t have to fuss with “work appropriate” colors — like it would really make that big of a difference.

  2. nevertoomuchglitter says:

    Boo for dress codes! I might be meeting clients, so I have to be conservative. Worst of all, there are pantyhose and high heels involved. I’m getting some new Konad stuff and I will make up for all this good taste!

  3. pantyhose ?????? eeeeeeeekkkkkk! Thank goodness I can’t remember the last time I had to wear pantyhose 🙂

  4. nevertoomuchglitter says:

    Yes, pantyhose, the bane of my existence. Plus high heels. Why is it that women have to put in all this effort and the guys get to wear comfy shoes? They should make really uncomfortable underwear for men made of foam rubber with sand in it to even the score a little bit. Don’t get me started on waxing. But 2 more days and I can relax again!

Leave a Reply

