OPI DS Jewel

Well, I still have that bottle of OPI DS Jewel, the burgundy/brownish monstrosity that looked really bad on me. I did a layer franken with it a couple nights ago, but I decided to experiment with it further. It’s a nice sunny day here, but my pictures aren’t all that great. Please forgive the smudges and dry cuticles.

I mixed all these half-and-half. Luckily, I came up with some interesting colors and I think that the Jewel will not go to waste. I only painted two nails because I wanted to mix a lot of colors! So I guess this is technically a  microfranken.

img_0925

This is half Jewel and half Orly Berry Blast, a medium pink with blue flash. It made a kind of glittery fuscia. A nice summertime color but I’m not in the mood for it now.

img_0933

img_0938

This is a burgundy shimmer- I really liked this one. It’s half Jewel and half China Glaze Devotion, a silver shimmer. Any gray-based shimmer will work for this.

img_0946

img_0950

This is half navy blue and half Jewel. I used an off-brand, but any dark blue will do. It made a glittery purple which was brighter in real life, but kind of a fun darkish color.

img_0963

img_0966

This was half Jewel and half Color Club Explosive, a really intense neon yellow/green. It made a drab olive color with a burgundy flash. You can really see the burgundy glitter in this one when the light hits it. I liked this one best but it might look diseased on longer nails.

Oh, and my guy wanted to show his manicure:

img_0914

Actually, I forced him to try out this franken. He agreed, probably because he was overwhelmed by nail polish fumes. I think his huge hand around the bottle is a nice touch, no?

About nevertoomuchglitter

Nail artist. Wanderer. I'm a color-holic, in fact, it was my love of color that brought me to the nail art world. Well, that, and the fact I was too cheap to pay crazy Japanese prices for nail polish while living in Tokyo, so I had to start mixing my own. That's how NTMG began.
This entry was posted in Nail polish and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to OPI DS Jewel

  1. Atomica says:

    Ooooh! I’m in love with the colour you frankened by mixing Jewel and Color Club Explosive! Gorgeous!

  2. nevertoomuchglitter says:

    I actually was surprised by the result- I expected a dirty weird orange, but it came out to khaki green with burgundy shimmer. I don’t think I’ve seen anything like it on the market- I think I’ll do a full set with these if I get in a green mood. I have to use up that bottle of Jewel somehow!

  3. shutendoji says:

    Your guy is a real trooper 🙂

  4. nevertoomuchglitter says:

    Oh, I’m sure he’ll be glad to hear that. He secretly wanted a manicure, or he wouldn’t have agreed, fumes or no fumes.

  5. I knew you of all people would be able to create some great colors from that disaster color. Great job, i see several i like.

    Your man is a real man for letting you paint his nails~

  6. nevertoomuchglitter says:

    Thanks Brooke! I have about 3/4 of the bottle left, so expect to see a lot more frankens from this one. I wonder if I got a dud bottle or something, because usually OPI DS are very nice, but this one was just a bummer. Flat, gritty and streaky, besides being an icky color.

    I’ll pass the word on to my guy that real men have Man-icures!

Leave a Reply

