Disappointing Color? Franken It!

I bought quite a few nail polishes online, and while I look for swatches on real nails before buying, it’s not always possible. I bought an OPI Designer Series polish from an etailer, and it was a disappointment. The DS colors are holographic, pretty and fun to wear, but this one was a downer. It was OPI DS Jewel, which promised to be an exciting burgundy, but it was a poo brown with red undertones and weird magenta microshimmer. It didn’t work with my skintone at all, but I rarely see poo brown look good on anyone. And it’s not because it’s the same color as poo, it’s that reddish brown is just hard to pull off.

Here it is, two coats on the pinkie and three on everything else:

img_08731

Later on, I’m going to franken new colors from this because I’m not wearing it again. It just looks bad. But since my mixing stuff is still in a box, I had to settle for a layer franken.

Light, translucent colors that take a lot of coats to build can really transform a dark polish. Here, I used four iridescent sheers over the dreaded Jewel to make something a little different. Each one is one coat. Forgive the smudges, I put the polish on near my heater. I know I shouldn’t, but the heater was so nice and warm.

First up, OPI Megawatt?!, a pale yellow with yellow flash. It really pops over the Jewel. This is one rather thick coat.

img_0874

Second,Orly Citrine Cheer, a translucent orangey yellow with silver flecks which was also 75% off at CVS. This color was really sheer and would have taken forever to show up if there was nothing darker underneath. I think most people got frustrated and gave up. It’s a nice color, but really needs to be used as a topcoat rather than a nail color.

img_0886

img_0889

The above photo, from left to right, is: Megawatt?!, Citrine Cheer and just the Jewel plain with no topcoat. See how much the color can change with one layer?

Third, L’Oreal Moroccan Mint on my ring finger. It’s a sheer mint green shimmer with a green flash. I got this at a Dollar Tree and it was a bit thick. Nice color though, and I’m thinning it as soon as I can find my thinner, which is hidden somewhere amongst the boxes.

img_0895

Last, Orly Sky Blue Pink, a baby blue sheer shimmer with pink flash. It didn’t really change the color of the polish substantially but gave it a nice depth and shimmer.

img_09021

img_09061

So, if you got a color you don’t like, try a sheer iridescent over it, especially if it’s medium or dark. If it’s a light color that you don’t like, try it over a darker shade. Life is too short to wear ugly nail polish! Franken something new and you may just find the perfect color.

About nevertoomuchglitter

Nail artist. Wanderer. I'm a color-holic, in fact, it was my love of color that brought me to the nail art world. Well, that, and the fact I was too cheap to pay crazy Japanese prices for nail polish while living in Tokyo, so I had to start mixing my own. That's how NTMG began.
This entry was posted in Nail polish and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Disappointing Color? Franken It!

  1. That is so disapointing to buy a nail polish color and then it suck 😦
    At least you are a franken goddess and will be able to work wonders with this 🙂

  2. nevertoomuchglitter says:

    I’m going to mix it with some reds, purple and black to get something vampy. I think if I go lighter with it, it’ll look sort of gross because of the red undertones. I’ll experiment, but this one was a disappointment. I guess it could become a dark basecoat but on its own, it’s just yeech. OPI did so great with the other DS polishes. But hopefully I can make something cool from it.

Leave a Reply

