Dusk

This is a fabulous color which I just love. It doesn’t look like much at first glance but I found myself appreciating it the more I looked at it.

It’s a gray-based purple shimmer. (Grayuple? Purlgray?) Usually I keep gray based colors as creme, but this one is shimmery and reminds me of twilight. I added one coat of China Glaze Fairy Dust, a fairly sparse silver holo microglitter- it reminded me of stars sprinkled across the darkening sky.

img_0791

img_0794

img_0799

The color was slightly more violet in real life.  I might do a Twilight theme nail with this on the tip and fading out to a dark blue/black on the base. But that’s for another time!

This is China Glaze Red Curl Girl, a medium red shimmer, mixed with a few drops of China Glaze Frostbite, a gorgeous darkish medium blue frost. It’s a great color by itself, but it’s a strong blue to franken with when wimpy blue cremes won’t change the color enough.

Lots of love for the China Glaze today- the topcoat is CG Fairy Dust, as I mentioned. Definitely worth getting if you are a glitter troll like me.

I added this to a light gray shimmer made with white creme, a couple drops of black creme, and pearl white. I added the purple drop by drop to the gray until I got the dusky color I wanted.

This may be my last franken for a couple days because I’m trying to do my last packing and cleaning before the big move on Sunday! No internet in the new place until at least Sunday Dec. 20, after we leave for Christmas holiday. I’ll sneak in a couple of frankens at my desk if possible…can I fool my boss into thinking that I’m being productive?

About nevertoomuchglitter

Nail artist. Wanderer. I'm a color-holic, in fact, it was my love of color that brought me to the nail art world. Well, that, and the fact I was too cheap to pay crazy Japanese prices for nail polish while living in Tokyo, so I had to start mixing my own. That's how NTMG began.
This entry was posted in Gray Base, Nail polish, Purples and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Dusk

  1. I love love love this color!! This looks totally cool. And I say go for it (frankening at your desk)!!!

  2. I almost forgot to tell you! I was checking out another blog and she has a cool little set up for her “fake” nails. She made this little stand to stick her nails on so she can paint them. Don’t know if you already have something like this since you do use some fakes for your more elaborate designs. Anyway, she has a board and has screwed in hooks, and then uses like a little gummy substance and sticks the nails (nail tips) on the hook. Here is the link where she has pictures up and everything!

    http://miniblog.create-magical-nails.com/mini_nail_blog/2008/10/nail-tip-stando.html

  3. Jamie D. says:

    This color is absolutely gorgeous…wonderfully smoky and classy.

    Good luck with your move…

Leave a Reply

